Corrupt/missing file won't allow system startup - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2006, 11:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to SLLAB02
Default Corrupt/missing file won't allow system startup

It all started with Quake 4. I installed it and it wouldn't run, so I assumed I needed to reinstall my video card drivers. I did it, and when I restarted I couldn't connect to the internet, so I did system restore.

When my comp came back from restore, almost immediately I receive a message that a file related to Nvidia is corrupt and won't allow my system to start. It also tells me that if I use the original Windows startup CD that this problem can be fixed, but I don't have that disc any longer. So I called my manufacturer's tech support line and they game me the website to download all the drivers I need. Of course, I need to use another computer to access the files, but I was able to use the CD burner on my roomates comp and put em on. However I'm not sure how to get the disc with the files to boot right away. All I did was download the files from the driver website straight onto the disc, I'm not sure my roomate has software to create a boot cd, if that's even what I want to do with these driver files.

I'm preparing to reformat, but I really don't want to if I don't have to. Any tips??

SLLAB02 is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 02:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

Well, you'll need the Windows XP CD to reformat, so if you don't have that you can't reformat with XP.

If you come across a CD, do a repair or just reformat.

You can't boot with drivers.


Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 08:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
STATus h2O's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Fayetteville, North Carolina
Posts: 90
Send a message via AIM to STATus h2O

Have you tried booting in safe mode?
<P><a href=""><img src="" border="0"></a>
<a href=""><img src="" border="0"></a>
<a href=""><img src="" border="0"></a>
<a href=""><img src="" border="0"></a>

<I>IM me on AIM @</I> <B>STATus H2o</B>
STATus h2O is offline  
Old 09-30-2006, 11:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to SLLAB02

Any tips on how to retrieve an Xp home 2002 boot cd? My computer initially came with a whole bunch of CDs, not just a Win xp boot cd.

The fellow on the tech support line just told me to download those drivers and that was that. I'd already explained to him that my comp was completely inoperable, so I assumed he was telling me that I could make a boot CD with those drivers

My computer won't allow for safe mode -- the absolute first thing that happens (after the screen which says "hit f9 for BIOS" (or something to that effect) and "hit DEL for backup utility" (or something like that)...
the first thing after that is the message describing that the named file is "missing or corrupt". there's not even a command to type anything at all.
SLLAB02 is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 05:16 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 6

A clean install with WinXP (or maybe even a repair), will delete the driver service table. That way, you will run using the default Windows drivers.

Apart from running in the wrong resolution initially, everything else should be okay. It sounds to me like you may have used a version of WindowsXP with nVidia drivers slipstreamed into it, as the original disk doesn't install a specific manufacturer driver to begin with.

Try another repair with an original disk, failing that, try a re-format.
RitchieTheBrit is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 09:14 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

to get into safe mode, you hit F8 just after POST
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-01-2006, 06:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to SLLAB02

I don't have access to the original startup disc - it's lost. Any ideas on where to get one?

And safe mode isn't an option for me either it seems, I get the same message, which by the way I just wrote down and reads as follows:

"Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt:
You can attempt to repair this file by starting Windows Setup using the original Setup CD-ROM.
Select 'r' at the first screen to start repair.

Again, I don't have the original startup disc. My manufacturer says I can't be sent a new one. Might I try contacting Microsoft by phone instead?

SLLAB02 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:51 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.