Corrupt Bios/CMOS settings - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2009, 04:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2
Default Corrupt Bios/CMOS settings

Hey everyone. I was "upgrading" my BIOS today using Gigabyte's @BIOS crappy utility. Anyway, the program gave me a message telling bios upgrade failed. So I reboot and I get this CMOS checksum error and my OS won't boot. I tried going into BIOS/CMOS settings and I get this blank screen with only a small line flickering at the top-left of my screen. I'm guessing the BIOS or CMOS settings were erased or corrupted. I tried clearing the CMOS jumper by shorting it with my car keys. That didn't seem to work. But I'm still stuck with the blank screen when I try to go into BIOS settings. Help!!!

__________________

tedstevens is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Corrupt Bios/CMOS settings

Sounds like your screwed unless you can re-flash it. You probably need to replace the bios chip or replace the mobo.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 06-06-2009, 07:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
keba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: Corrupt Bios/CMOS settings

Did you read the sticky?
PC Troubleshooting Procedure List
__________________
Cheeseburgers everyone
keba is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My DICE Cooling Article. Peter.Cort Cooling 8 05-16-2009 05:08 PM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Please help me understand flashget settings! Average Joe Internet Software and Browsers 0 09-20-2007 01:00 PM
Corrupt windows XP file, wont boot XP spikoman69 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 07-07-2007 05:43 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.