Core Speed Not Constant - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2006, 11:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default Core Speed Not Constant

I've got a Compaq Persario R3000 with an AMD 64 3200+ Clawhammer CPU in it, and when I run CPU-Z the core clock speed keeps changing. It goes from 798 MHz to 1595.8 MHz and sometimes it'll go to 1595.9 or .7. When I ran this program on my previous notebook and on my desktop the core speed doesn't change like this. Any ideas why it does this?

Here's a link to my CPU-Z validator.

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=70860
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 12:05 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

normally it will change SLIGHTLY but from 798-1595 like you say, well i've never seen anything like that
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 12:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

is this a laptop?
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 12:28 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Yes, this is a laptop. Compaq Persario r3000
__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 12:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

thats why when not on full load the laptop downclocks to save energy and run cooler it is totaly normal
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 12:32 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 458
Default

Oh, alright. As long as it does that when I'm not doing anything important. Thanks.
__________________

__________________
<font size=1><b>Current Build:</b>
DFI Lanparty Ultra-D
<a href=\"http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=77714\">AMD 64 X2 4400+ @ 2.20GHz</a>
Big Typhoon Heatsink/Fan
2 GB G.Skill DDR500 PC4000
eVGA 256MB 7800GTX
37GB Raptor
2x 120GB Hard Drives</font>
sickness is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.