copy 6 gb iso to 2 usb of 4 gb

goldyc

Baseband Member
Hi there,
I have a 6 gb iso that i wanna write to 2 USB's that i have cos that's what are available and i dont have a dvd r/w.Help please.

Some other way of using iso may also be appreciated.

7-Zip has the ability to split a file, then combine it again. I'm sure most other compression software such as Winzip probably have this feature as well. I have never tried splitting an 8GB file before so I don't know if 7-Zip can handle a file that large but you could certainly try it.

An ISO is already compressed so 7-zip won't be able to compress it much, if any. On top of that, I'm sure there is overhead so if the file is truly 8GB, splitting it in 2 will probably result in 2 files larger than 4GB. You may need to split it into 3 parts.

7-Zip

Last edited:
7-Zip has the ability to split a file, then combine it again. I'm sure most other compression software such as Winzip probably have this feature as well. I have never tried splitting an 8GB file before so I don't know if 7-Zip can handle a file that large but you could certainly try it.

I'm sure there is overhead so if the file is truly 8GB, splitting it in2 will probably result in a file larger than 4GB. You may need to split it into 3 parts.

7-Zip
That is actually a really good suggestion. 8GB is well within splitting reason.
My suggestion would be to find out the exact size in KB of the ISO (eg - 8GB exactly is 8,388,608 KB), because 7zip requires to specify the number of bytes PER volume (archive).

If you wanted to split and exactly 8GB into 2 files, you would put in the bytes number "4,294,967,296". That is the number of bytes in 8GB divided by the number of files (2).

Remember that 1024 bytes = 1KB

To bring them back together, simply put the two files into the same folder on the destination drive, then extract.