Cooling Problems, Computer Turning OFF! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-21-2007, 02:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Angry Cooling Problems, Computer Turning OFF!

HI everyone,

I have a small problem, i'm sure some of you have heard of it before.

When playing a game like the NEW ArmA Armed Assault or microsoft flight sim 2004 my computer will turn off. No shut down just OFF!

I researched this problem and found out that the P4 has a protection system built in which will stop it from overheating and blowing up. I assumed this would be easily solved, i pulled off my old heatsink and fan and brought a brand NEW zalman CNPS9500 with the biggest copper heat sink you have ever seen and a fan with a little LED! this baby will keep the heat away, SORTED................. so i thought! a few seconds in to armed assault and BAM! off it goes again!

Prior to buying the zalman i also added two seperate fans to fit on the back of the case inside + my PC, + PCI slot exhaust fan + a seperate fan on the front for the HD's and my graphic card is a nvidia Geforce 6800 GT with artic cool.

I'm not a computer technician but i know my way about enough too know that i have enough FANS! I also have up to date virus and spamware killer on my PC.

This leaves one thing, my power supply? which is currently a 400W..... surley this is enough? could i need more? this is the question i need answering, but i would like someone to confirm this could be the case, my PC never ever turns off when i am browsing the interne, working or if it just sits there idle. Only when playing high end demanding 3D games. HELP!

2 x 80GB hard drives
2GB RAM
Geforce 6800GT
3.2Ghz P4
400WATT Power Supply
3 FANS
ZALMAN CNPS9500 CPU FAN
__________________

deanos63 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 02:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

what are your case temps speedfan is a good program to check???

Matt
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

yes i have speedfan, it says:

FAN 1 - 1918 RPM
FAN 2 - 2400 RPM

TEMP 1 - 28c
TEMP 2 - 38c
TEMP 3 - 56c
LOCAL - 41c
REMOTE - 47c
HD1 - 30c
HD2 - 29c
deanos63 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

TEMP 3 is a bit high according to speed fan but i don't know what temp 3 relates too?
deanos63 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default

erm sorry i dont know exactly it will be one of your temperature sensors maybe sited on the mobo near the grahics card as that churns out a lot of heat but if ure not gaming then ive got no clue lol
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Download Everest Home Edition from majorgeeks. That should give you some pretty accurate temps but the bios temperatures would be ideal. A 400w powersupply should be enough but the companie who makes it could be the issue. Your computer seems to have more than enough cooling. I would get a new power supply if the current one is some crappy generic one. I would check the voltage of the rails with either the bios or everest. If they are off by a large margin, that might just be your problem. My guess is temperature 3 is his video card. Even with aftermarket coolers, the 6 series video cards are known to run very hot.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

its a JEANTECH PSU i brought it from PCworld about a year ago.
deanos63 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 03:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

i downloaded everest and you were write it says GPU 51c

and my cpu is 35c

i just looked up JEANTECH and it looks like it is an awful brand, maybe this is the problem??
deanos63 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 04:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: West Babylon, New York
Posts: 2,021
Send a message via AIM to Pepsiboy700 Send a message via MSN to Pepsiboy700
Default

Yeah that is most likely the issue. The temps are just fine too. You've probably got a prescott core for that P4 which run hot too. Get this powersupply (
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153023 ). I ran a system similar to what you have with that psu and it was just fine.

Can you tell me what Everest says about the voltages on the rails just to verify if the psu is the issue? The voltages everest gets could be off though.
__________________
i3 540 @ 3066 MHZ
4GB DDR3 1600 1T 9-9-9-28
2x 750GB
HD 5750 @ 850/2400
Thermaltake 630W
Antec Lanboy Air
Pepsiboy700 is offline  
Old 02-21-2007, 05:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Field Value
Sensor Properties
Sensor Type Winbond W83627HF (ISA 290h)
GPU Sensor Type National LM89 (NV-I2C 4Ch)

Temperatures
Motherboard 27 °C (81 °F)
CPU 34 °C (93 °F)
Aux 25 °C (77 °F)
GPU 50 °C (122 °F)
GPU Ambient 40 °C (104 °F)
WDC WD800BB-00DKA0 28 °C (82 °F)
WDC WD800EB-00DJF0 36 °C (97 °F)

Cooling Fans
CPU 1776 RPM
Chassis 1467 RPM

Voltage Values
CPU Core 1.38 V
Aux 1.87 V
+3.3 V 3.47 V
+5 V 5.19 V
+12 V 12.34 V
-12 V 3.11 V
-5 V 3.85 V
+5 V Standby 5.14 V
VBAT Battery 0.24 V
Debug Info F 5F 73 FF
Debug Info T 27 34 25
Debug Info V 56 75 D9 C1 CB DB E6 (01)

that is what everest says. plus on the side of the PSU it says 12v1 15AMP 12v2 17AMP
__________________

deanos63 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.