Continuous Beeping - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2008, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 44
Default Continuous Beeping

My HP Desktop PJ506AA does not boot, at all, not even BIOS, and beeps Continuously. This Happened when I was putting in DDR2 512 RAM (I have DDR1, and I didn't realize I got DDR2 RAM and was trying to put that into my computer). After I put it in, I turned on the computer and it beeped, not once, not twice, but kept beeping, with around 7 second pauses in between.I also smelt a burning smell coming from around the area of my fan. I then took out the RAM, realizing it was DDR2 not DDR1 and attempted to power on my PC again. It kept on beeping. I then decided to narrow down the problem. I took out all unneeded parts. Including my GForce video card, DVD Drive, Hard Drive, Modem. All that remains inside is my motherboard, processor, my original DDR1 512 RAM, and my Intel Graphics built in card, that is attached to my motherboard. I powered on again, and it kept on beeping. I consulted the HP manual, to find out how many beeps mean what. It doesn't say anything about continuous beeps. I called HP, and they can't help me since my Warranty has expired. Please help me, thank you.
__________________

__________________
-Filya Baranov
Filya_Baranov is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:39 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

BiosCentral - AMI BIOS Beep Codes

Try this for your beep codes.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 44
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

I checked out the link you sent me, It doesn't say anything about Continuous Beeping codes. Cause thats what mine does. It just beeps with pauses in between. I counted till about 32, and then turned off my computer cause it was getting annoying.
__________________
-Filya Baranov
Filya_Baranov is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 12:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ivan chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

you prob fried the ram voltage control
and if you smelled a burning smell then wherever that smell was coming from ...whatever was burning is prob "FRIED"

srry man
ivan chaos is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 01:20 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

is the ram properly placed?

when i first installed ram, i didnt have it clicked all the way down and it caused that beeping too. make sure both sides of the ram are clicked down all the way.
saioke is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 12:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

I'm having the same problem! I have Dell Dimension 8400 and I had 512 x 2 of ddr2, one in each bank and I recently ordered 1gb x 2 but i mistakenly placed both 512s in one bank and both 1gbs in one bank... after i turn on the pc, it beeps 6 times and when I turn it off it turns itself back on.

what can i do? :\
ninor is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 12:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

nevermind i fixed it
ninor is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 12:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

so wait... you put ddr 2 into a ddr1 slot? how did you manage that? you definately broke the RAM slot, and maybe the northbridge aswell.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 12:56 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 62
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivan chaos View Post
you prob fried the ram voltage control
and if you smelled a burning smell then wherever that smell was coming from ...whatever was burning is prob "FRIED"

srry man
agree with ivan... better to go to a repair center so they can take a closer look and see what fried , for sure something is fried and will need to be replaced.
RaptorX is offline  
Old 01-05-2008, 04:50 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 44
Default Re: Continuous Beeping

I'm gonna go buy a new piece of RAM, and a new Motherboard. Becuase I think maybe I damaged my RAM, the 512 DDR1. So I'm gonna try to put in brand new DDR1 ram. If that doesnt work, then i'll know for sure I need to replace the motherboard.
__________________

__________________
-Filya Baranov
Filya_Baranov is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beeping compaq T88SupraStyle Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-22-2007 12:23 AM
beeping sounds PlanetaryED Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 11-19-2007 10:49 AM
cant get mobo to stop beeping bomt697 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-22-2007 06:58 AM
Beeping keyboard????? ingeborgdot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 09-04-2007 10:59 PM
Beeping Sound upon startup Syphanx Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 07-14-2007 10:17 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.