Continuos Reboot after new biuld - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-24-2008, 06:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Continuos Reboot after new biuld

Ive recently ugraded my computer using:

Asrock P45TURBOTwins2000 LGA775 Intel P45 1600FSB DDR2 and DDR3 ATX motherboard (NEW)
700w Jeantech Power supply (ALREADY OWNED)
2GB 667mhz DDR2 Ram (ALREADY OWNED)
Intel Pentium 4 3Ghz Dual Core Processor (ALREADY OWNED)
Radeon 2900 Pro 1gb PCI Express Graphic Card (ALREADY OWNED)
2 Sata Hard Drives (320gb with Windows XP Pro) & (500gb) (ALREADY OWNED)
SATA DVD-ROM Drive 22x Samsung

I received the new motherbord on monday 22nd Sep 08 along with new case ect. That evening i took apart my workin previous computer and rebiult it all into the new case with the new motherboard. I plugged everything in correctly and connected it all up. I was using a USB keyboard, PS2 Mouse and connected monitor via DVi cable as per usual. I turned it on, everything fired up but the first thing i noticed was the time it took to display anythin on the screen, my old computer when turned on wud take about 1 sec to display the startup. This however took about 8-10 sec but when it did come on it started up as normal. On my harddrive with the Operating sytem i have it fully encrpyted using truecrypt so i entered my password and it carried on like normal. Then the windows loading screen came up and just at the point where you are propmted for the login password it resets itself. Im surer if there was any hardware issue it would not have allowed to come this far. I read up on it and reset bios, started with minimum hardware ect. Then tried to install xp again but as it was loading files before it gets to the bit were you press enter to setup and r to repair ect it displays blue screen with stop: 0x0000007B (0xf7c7a524, 0xc0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000).

I then decided to unplug it all and rebiuld it back into my old motherboard which was originally working but just put it into the new case which wouldnt make any difference as far as im aware. When it was finished i turned it on and everything started up but there was no display on the screen.

Tonite im going to put it all on new motherboard again and use an IDE hdd to try reinstall xp on and see if that works. Im hopeing it not the graphic card as that cost me 200 and it has been fine since i got it.

All the forums are suggesting things like RAID an stuff, i dnt have a clue about anything like that and dont see how it would be needed. Any info that could help would be greatly appreciated, before i have to hand it over to a pro who will charge the earth and ive also had previous bad experience with some people. Ive done various courses and have experience with computers and there components but im no expert.
__________________

JakM1 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Continuos Reboot after new biuld

When you get any new hardware especially a motherboard, and using a hard drive from a previous system, you need to repair install windows or reformat it completetly. Because the hard drive will have different drivers and aren't meant for the new motherboard.

You can repair install or reformat by booting from a Windows OS disc. Note that a repair install will keep all your files and programs intact, hopefully.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Continuos Reboot after new biuld

Thanks for reply, wat do you suggest if i cant get to the bit where i can press enter to install, it kept restarting just before it gets to that bit.

Many Thanks
JakM1 is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 10:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Continuos Reboot after new biuld

Did you go into bios and change your boot priority to your disk drive?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 09-24-2008, 12:17 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Naphtali14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 140
Send a message via AIM to Naphtali14 Send a message via MSN to Naphtali14 Send a message via Yahoo to Naphtali14
Default Re: Continuos Reboot after new biuld

Yes as gt7sanremo said.. To get to the place where it will let you do a new install of windows (which is essential since you replaced so much hardware) you must go into the bios and set the boot priority to boot from the CD/DVD first. Then it will load the windows files and you'll be given the option to reformat and do a clean install ;-)
Naphtali14 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 05:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: Continuos Reboot after new biuld

Hi guys,

Got it all working last nite, i ended up needing to buy a floppy, then insert the motherboard cd and upload the SATA drivers to the floppy so that windows would detect my hard drive and i would be able to reinstall windows. I threw my floppy out ages ago thinking will never need it again but im feeling that floppy will be lurging in the backgroud for quite some time to come so ill be storing this one for future. All up an working great.

Many Thanks
JakM1 is offline  
Old 09-25-2008, 01:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Continuos Reboot after new biuld

yep. my external floppy saved my *** yesterday.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XP Batch script: Ping all PC's, if they all are offline: reboot router LincolnX Programming 2 12-19-2007 09:08 PM
Computer restarts on its own;then won't reboot fully. ingeborgdot Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 10-03-2007 04:02 PM
Computer continues to reboot. Rawmaterial Microsoft Windows and Software 10 08-20-2007 03:06 PM
Frustrating reboot problem podrae Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 07-30-2007 08:50 PM
SATA DVD drive disappears after reboot nutmilk Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-31-2007 02:30 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.