constnat reboot after reinstall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-03-2007, 11:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default constnat reboot after reinstall

Well, I'm an idiot. I was working with a program that needed to alter my explorer file and ended up corruptiong (or just simply deleted) the explorer.exe file. Now you all know how that goes, no explorer, no windows. Well I just decided to backup everything on a serperate partition and reinstall XP.

After the reinstall, everything is fine... but stupid me decided to mess with the explorer file again, thinking I screwed up the first time. Well, explorer ended up still there, but corrupted. No big deal, just have to reinstall again.

I reinstalled a 3rd time, and then a 4th. Reason for the 4th time is because on both the 3rd and 4th attempts, after I reinstalled XP, I get to the logon screen and the computer reboots. What I mean by that is the PC reboots after I TRY to logon. It says "loading your personal settings, yada, yada, yada" then POOF. Of course if I'm not in the room it would reboot constantly if the PC is set to auto login. What could the problem be? The disk always worked fine before, and I didn't do anything to it.
__________________

X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 11:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

try booting to safe mode.

if it still wont boot in safe mode, possibility of a corrupt install
__________________

zep867 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 12:52 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

I can boot into safe mode perfectly fine. I'm quite confused right now, lol.
X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 01:18 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

and you haven't installed anything?

safe mode just loads windows in a fail-safe minimal mode.
basic drivers, no network support (unless specified) and no start up.

check your start-up using msconfig

beyond that, I dont know why it'd do that on a fresh install
zep867 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 02:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 139
Send a message via AIM to X2Xtreme360
Default

Nvm I just installed pro instead. I have no idea why my home disk was doing that. Lucky for me I get free software because of college, so I downloaded pro off there.
X2Xtreme360 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.