Connecting the PC speaker - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2006, 11:09 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default Connecting the PC speaker

I have consulted my motherboard manual and I know exactly where the jumpers should go, but I cannot find the jumper(s) labelled 'Speaker' coming from the case.

Here is a list of labelled jumpers:

+P LED
-P LED
Power LED

SHIELD
DATA-1
DATA+1
DATA-2
DATA+2
VCC1
VCC2
GND1
GND2

EAR R
EAR R
EAR L
EAR L
EAR GND
MIC DATA
MIC GND
MIC VBB

HDD LED

POWER SW

RESET SW

I assume it's one of those. I tried the EAR ones without any luck...

Thanks
__________________

James1 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 11:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

Look for the speaker in your case and see what is connected to it.
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 14
Send a message via AIM to Serovectra
Default

What mb do you have?
Serovectra is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Serovectra
What mb do you have?
Epox Nvidia Nforce2

I took the case apart and I can't actually see a speaker. All the wires seem to go into the back of a small box which the LCD is connected to.
James1 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 136
Default

I dont think it matters what type of motherboard he has. It would seem to be more of a case issue. James what type of case are you using? and if possible a link to a site that sells it. O just to follow up with what you said about trying the ear ones....those are actually for a headphone jack somewhere on the case you are using.
__________________
AMD Athlon 3400+ 64-Bit
Gigabyte KN8-Pro MOBO
1.5 GB PC3200 Ultra ValueRam
GeForce 6800 GT 256Mb W/ Arctic Cooling
2 120 Gb Western Digital in Raid 0
250Gb IDE Western Digital HD
500 Watt Ultra X-Connect PS
Raidmax Cobra Case Blue

Laptop: 12\' Apple Powerbook G4
IceyDeath23 is offline  
Old 01-25-2006, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by IceyDeath23
I dont think it matters what type of motherboard he has. It would seem to be more of a case issue. James what type of case are you using? and if possible a link to a site that sells it
It just says 'Digital computer systems' on the front. I looked online earlier and couldn't find any information on it

It has some kind of Microphone, USB and also LCD function on it , however.
__________________

James1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.