Connecting LCD via DVI cable - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-29-2007, 04:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Connecting LCD via DVI cable

ok got a new monitor today, its a samsung syncmaster 940BW, when i connected it via DVI i got no picture on the screen, just a message flashing "Analog/DVI"? what do i need to do to get it working? at the moment im using normal VGA cable
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Connecting LCD via DVI cable

there should be a button on the monitor to switch between analog and dvi. My monitor has 5 different inputs and I have to select which one I want to use. What monitor are you using?
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 04:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default Re: Connecting LCD via DVI cable

Just wondering, did you plug the power connector for your video card? I think it should either be a 4pin molex or 6 pin PCIe. Also, have you tried both DVI port on the card?

EDIT* Also there are different DVI format, do you know what DVI format the port on monitor is (DVI-D, DVI-A, DVI-I)? I know that the 7950GT should be DVI-I. You might need the right cable else they won't work.
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Connecting LCD via DVI cable

nothing has been touched inside the pc.
Just got a new monitor thats all, why would i need a different DVI cable other than the one supplied? surly that one should work as thats what its for?
Ill try pressing the buttons on the front when the cable is connected
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Connecting LCD via DVI cable

sorted it now guys, i just needed to select DVI and it worked
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 05:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Connecting LCD via DVI cable

nice work. that was my assumtion. I have run into that a bunch with dvi monitors.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 06-29-2007, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Connecting LCD via DVI cable

To be honest im not seeing any difference really but what the hey, its probably better just i cant really see it with my eyes
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
answer me this.. LAN cable DOESNT WORK with certain PCs. clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2007 01:23 PM
Why does a USB extension cable causes occasional flash drive write error? piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-07-2007 01:29 PM
RJ45 to RJ11 Cable ? Phiberoptik Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 04-28-2007 11:02 AM
Ethernet cable ends plumber4578 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 4 04-16-2007 02:33 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.