connecting a hard drive and dvdrom - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-31-2005, 07:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Question connecting a hard drive and dvdrom

Can you connect a hard drive and a dvd rom on the same cable? Like make the hard drive the master and the dvd the slave? I have 3 hard drives and 1 dvd rom and I like to have them all pluged in at once.

Thanks
__________________

mrcheapyasui is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

sure can but not recommended.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 07:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

why isnt it recommended?
mrcheapyasui is offline  
Old 12-31-2005, 09:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 13
Default

I tried to make the dvd rom the master and the hard drive the slave, and when they are both connected it doesnt recognize either,, when only one or the other is connected it shows up. Any advice?
mrcheapyasui is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.