Connecting Acer Ferrari 4005 WLMi (LXFR40M020) to a Samsung 40" LCD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2006, 03:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Unhappy Connecting Acer Ferrari 4005 WLMi (LXFR40M020) to a Samsung 40" LCD

Laptop has ;-

VGA out
S-Video out
DVI (Digital Video Interface)

Samsung LE40R51B 40" LCD:-

1x HDMI (with HDCP)
1x Composite Video (RCA)
1x S-Video (4 pin min DIN)
1x 15 pin mini D-sub
1x audio in (mini jack)
1x Headphone socket

I am interested in connecting my laptop to this screen, not at all sure whether they are compatible to be honest, tried using VGA to VGA (blue plug pc connection - samsung would call it) it brings up the desktop but no icons no mouse etc, any help would be awesome.



Jamesbt9 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to altxf4

Sounds like the 40" is set as a extended desk top. If you move the mouse off the edge (usually default is right edge) you should get the cursor on the 40".

If you want the 40" as your primary display. right click desktop- properties-settings tab- Advamced button-

Should have a tab or somethign with a display manager.

Should see a list of the different screen types ie: LCD, S-video, D-sub/VGA, DVI

click on the button that says D-sub or VGA and look for a check box that says make primary display and check it.

That should make the icons show up on the 40" and that be your main display and the laptop screen icons disapear.

at this time i would disable the laptops screen so that you dont run into problems with video playback and games, ect

hope that helps

altxf4 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 06:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2

Awesome pal thank you, do you think it is possible 2 extend my windows to the 40" monitor and have both not that it really matters.
Jamesbt9 is offline  
Old 10-22-2006, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to altxf4

yeah. In the same are where it says to set monitors as primary and stuff. there should also be a option box to "extend my desktop to this screen"

your start toolbar will then extend accross both screens. that option usually works best though when you got multiple equal sized monitors side by side. going from different sized monitors is weird at times because the cursor will track different from one to the other.
altxf4 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.