Computer wont work?! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-02-2005, 04:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 71
Default Computer wont work?!

Ok was on this computer last night and this morning it stopped working. When I push the power button it turns on but no beeps or anything and a blank screan. But on my motherboard (dfi lanparty nf4) at the bottom left theres a red light that turns on which I have no clue what it means. and to the right of the ram a orange light turns on.
heres my comp specs.
amd 64 3200
dfi lanparty nf4
2 x 512 corsair xms
thermaltake silent 480w
gigabyte 6800ultra pcie x16
__________________

Abercrombie is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 07:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

I think your mobo has the Reset-CMOS jumper. If so, use that jumper to reset your CMOS. If not, you can pull your CMOS battery for a couple minutes, which will have the same result.

By the sounds of things, it is motherboard related, so I would start with the CMOS reset. If that doesnt work, then we can try some other things.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 10:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 27
Default

Firt i think that you should try another PSU if the same thing happen, then you should consider the CPU and the board.

comptia A+
obedyah is offline  
Old 10-06-2005, 10:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

try to trow in a pci video card, and see if you can see anything, might be a setting for the card in the bios. Take out the current video card and see what happens. Might not be motherboard related.
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.