computer wont turn on HELP!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-22-2005, 11:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Default computer wont turn on HELP!!!

well i just bought a new computer case for my comp so i took everything out of my old comp and put it in the case hooked everything up the same(i think) but i looked everywhere for unhooked in cables but i found them all to be plugged in buit my computer wont even turn on and i have no idea what the problem is please help!
__________________

ibanezicb is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 12:40 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 40
Default

Well, the fact you said "I Think" I've plugged the power cables into the motherboard correctly has painted the picture for me. Did the case come with a PSU and you are trying to use it in place of the old PSU? If so than it could be because of the Max Power supported is not up to par with your older PSU. If this isnt the case, then check the MB manual or some website with a diagram showing "Power Cable Connections for ATX boards". Otherwise let a professional take care of it, preferably a mutual friend.
__________________

__________________
\"No matter how deeply troubled you are, you can always change if you\'re willing.\"
Brentb2607 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 09:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

check the pw switch cable
__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 10:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 337
Send a message via AIM to shdwsclan
Default

make sure you scheck your connections. You may have a short on your board.

When connecting a board to a front panel, the words on the sockets should face the top of the case.

Some boards have wierd problems.
For example, my board wouldn't power up because the HD led was connected.

Does your power supply have enough wattage to run your system?

Are all the power connectors connected like the p4 power connector(now present on amd board too).

Is your power supply functioning?

Is the front panel functional?

Did you clear the CMOS, or are you trying to boot the board in CMOS reset mode?

The problem may also be that you have bios failure.....
shdwsclan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.