Computer won't turn on? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2005, 05:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

Have you done what I did? try reseating everything. Take out the memory and put it back in, plug and unplug the cables fromt the PSU to the mobo, etc. It might help you.
__________________

Shannon is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 07:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

yup tried everything
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 07:51 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 961
Default

Alright well this may be a stupid question but did you forsure get the motherboard power connector in the right way? Try unplugging all devices but the motherboard and video card and see if it works.
__________________
A+ certified.
I now am on the interweb:
www.thescurvyshack.com
Mr_Threepwood is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 08:35 PM   #14 (permalink)
Sui
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Socal
Posts: 665
Default

ok this goes to both of you, try disconnecting the power on switch from the motherboard and jumping it (screw driver works most of the the time). This isn't going to do much but take the case out of the equation.

Then disconnect any non essentials, such as extra sticks of ram, sound cards, networking cards, ect. You could have damaged the motherboard then you accidentally pulled the cords out, so I'd say that is your next step.

Rocky create your own thread, the problems are close, but they are not the same. I believe they call what your doing Hijacking a thread.
Sui is offline  
Old 12-18-2005, 10:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 9
Default

I would remove the board and inspect for any component burnt out susch as resistor, capacitor, diode or fuse.
sam007 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 12:35 AM   #16 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Stevo808's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 381
Send a message via AIM to Stevo808
Default

did you guys check the system panel?
__________________
<---- Please REP if i was helpful! Thanks! :thumbsup:

Stevo808 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:36 AM   #17 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sui
ok this goes to both of you, try disconnecting the power on switch from the motherboard and jumping it (screw driver works most of the the time). This isn't going to do much but take the case out of the equation.
I'm a little confused about this part. How would I disconnect the power switch?
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 01:41 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Shannon
I'm a little confused about this part. How would I disconnect the power switch?
On the F- Panel you would remove the wire that says power button one it. It should slip off easily.
Ste is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:14 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 300
Send a message via AIM to Shannon Send a message via Yahoo to Shannon
Default

Thank you for all the suggestions. I have had no success. Would I be safe in assuming that my processor is probably okay?

I was looking at motherboards and I realized that I have a 754 3200 chip. I was sad about this because the new stuff, the dual core and whatnot are all coming out for 939. I think this is what I'm going to do. I'm going to get a mini ATX cube type box and motherboard, and put my current CPU and stuff in there. I've been wanting to make a cube form PC for a while, and It looks like it'll only be $150 and then I can save the rest of my components for when some of the higher dual core processors come down in price. My birthday's in June anyway.

Sound good?
Shannon is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:34 PM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,243
Send a message via AIM to CrAzY_GaMeR_07
Default

CLICK HERE



its like 203.99 shipped.

Cheapest i could find but Shuttle is a good brand!

Have Fun

~Joe
__________________

__________________
CrAzY_GaMeR_07 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.