Computer won't turn on - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-14-2007, 05:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Computer won't turn on

About a week ago my mobo fried and was smoking, so I got a new one. Today I put it in, and now the computer won't turn on. I turn on the PSU's power, and the switch lights up. (No fan turns on in the PSU, is one supposed to?) I hit the power switch in the front of my case, nothing. No lights, no noise, no nothing.

I'm thinking that my PSU is dead, but I want some imput before I send it back for a replacement.

Thanks.
__________________

tzvii is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

mb dead may affect the processor too, if computer wont boot, there is no reason for psu fan to be on.
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

I'm thinkin' the PSU is messed up. Try the PSU in another computer if you can.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I'm thinkin' the PSU is messed up. Try the PSU in another computer if you can.
or you can hotwire the psu to see if it works =D
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
or you can hotwire the psu to see if it works =D
How would I do that? Switching it into another computer seems like kinda alot of work, but I will if needed.

To the person who said cpu might be dead, I can switch one in from another computer after I try the PSU.
tzvii is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

on the 20/24 pin connector, use a paperclip and wire the green to a black wire. add a load like a cd drive. turn on the psu to see if drive turns on
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
on the 20/24 pin connector, use a paperclip and wire the green to a black wire. add a load like a cd drive. turn on the psu to see if drive turns on
The 20/24 pin connecter is the big one that goes in the mobo, right?

Yeh.. I'm not that good at this stuff. Could someone please explain this in a noob friendly way. Or I could just look on google. :P
tzvii is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 05:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

yes it is

link for "noobs" >> LINK
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 06:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 84
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

Can I just leave the cd drive, hdd and such plugged into the psu? or do I need to unplug them?
tzvii is offline  
Old 04-14-2007, 06:24 PM   #10 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Computer won't turn on

as stated above, add a load. leave the cd pluged in, dont plug i hdd by itself, werid things might happen afterwords
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Computer crash Mr. tech Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-06-2007 10:43 AM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.