Computer won't turn on. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-19-2006, 04:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Have you read any of my posts?
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Old 08-19-2006, 05:27 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

oh you did replace the powersupply sorry i got confused there are a ton of cases like this each day i just got confused after reading through the post i remember this one now i appologize. however the computer starting up for 5 seconds actually doesnt mean that the ram is good RAM has to be preatty messed up for it to not start up at all. test the ram using memtest86+ then if that returns no errors you have found the problem. also check if the error codes are the same that is one of the main signs that ram is bad. and i appoligize once again.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-20-2006, 01:28 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jcortes
oh you did replace the powersupply sorry i got confused there are a ton of cases like this each day i just got confused after reading through the post i remember this one now i appologize. however the computer starting up for 5 seconds actually doesnt mean that the ram is good RAM has to be preatty messed up for it to not start up at all. test the ram using memtest86+ then if that returns no errors you have found the problem. also check if the error codes are the same that is one of the main signs that ram is bad. and i appoligize once again.
It's alright.

Here's my scenario. Mobo and PSU have both been replaced with working units. Right now, the computer will turn on by jumping the connection (power switch is shorted out). After that, the HDD, CD drive, and floppy drive all turn on. The CPU fan does not work. The video card does not work. I replaced it with one I had laying around and I got video. It booted through the BIOS and started to boot the OS, but crashed because of the new MOBO.

The OS needs to be reinstalled before I can test anything. I might call the people who own it and see if they want to get it fixed and see if they even have an OS disc. If they do, then I can get the OS reinstalled, buy a new video card, case, and CPU fan. After that, I might be able to test the RAM.

I suppose I could take the RAM out and test it with my computer.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.