Computer won't start, could be dead. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2007, 06:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default Computer won't start, could be dead.

Hello,

I have a 2001 Emachines Desktop Computer (Intel Celeron 1.8ghz) bought from Bestbuy. I used it for many years then removed the motherboard (w/ processor and fan) and stored it in a static-free bag. The motherboard I replaced with it died shortly after where I proceeded to build an entirely new computer. Recently, I thought I should sell the old Emachines Computer cheap. I reconnected everything and attached everything properly as I had done several times before.

However, the computer would not start. The power supply was working since it's fan turned on, the DVD drive had power running to it since it could open/shut and the computer's LED lights were on indicating there was power running through the motherboard to allow the switch to work. Yet, the processor fan did not turn on nor did the video card's. I suspect the hard drive wasn't working either.

The power source was not the problem. I removed it and tried another one and came to the exact same problem. The cords were all properly attached as well. My belief is that the motherboard is no good, but it may be fixable. The computer is worth maximum $200 and to spend much or anything on a new motherboard, especially one that supports a Celeron 1.8ghz, could be a big waste of time.

Please help, thanks.
__________________

apples44 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 07:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 639
Default

I had this problem too with my old computer.... I forgot to put the standoffs on when I put my mainboard back into the case. Take out your mainboard and put standoffs in the try again
__________________

__________________
Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 @ 3400Mhz
Asus P5B-E
BFG 8800GTX OC
Samsung 400 GB Sata II
Corsair XMS2 2GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-12
Zalman CNPS-9700 LED
Antec Nine Hundred
Hp W2207 22" Widescreen Monitor
Windows Vista Home Premium
Silverstone ST60F 600W PSU
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue Gaming Mouse
gmanych is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 10:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Sorry but what are standoffs?
apples44 is offline  
Old 02-28-2007, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 119
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmanych
I had this problem too with my old computer.... I forgot to put the standoffs on when I put my mainboard back into the case. Take out your mainboard and put standoffs in the try again
And when you get them in, hope that your board is not fried.
__________________
Intel C2D E6300 @3.00 Ghz
Asus P5B-E
Antec Nine Hundred
HiPer 580 PSU
evga 8800 GTS 320 MB
G. Skill 2 GB DDR2 860
Seagate 250 GB sata 2 HD
Chimei 22\" Widescreen LCD
leje0306 is offline  
Old 03-01-2007, 12:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Default

I don't think my computer had or needs standoffs. I rebuilt it exactly how it was when I bought it. I know this because I took it apart.
apples44 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.