Computer Won't Recognize 2GB SD Card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-03-2007, 10:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default Computer Won't Recognize 2GB SD Card

Hi!

I recently purchased a 2GB Secure Digital (SD) card which I connect to my computer using a USB card reader. I use all types of flash cards up to 1GB on my computer with this card reader and it works fine. However, when I slide in my 2GB card absolutely nothing happens. It's as though the card reader has not even been plugged into the USB port. I tried using the same card reader and 2GB card on another computer and it recognized the card without a problem so I know it's not a problem with the card reader - it appears to be a problem with my motherboard or operating system. Any ideas on how to fix this problem?

Thanks!

dannyb

I'm running:
Windows XP Professional SP2
Motherboard: Intel D865GBF
RAM: 1024 MB DDR 400 PC3200
__________________

dannyb is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

update ur chipset driver
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

sylwek,

Thanks for the reply! I recently updated to what appears to be the latest version of chipset drivers for my MB from the Intel website (version 6.3.0.1008). Unfortunately, it had no effect. I still cannot see a 2GB flash card. Do you or anyone else have any other ideas?

Thanks!

dannyb
dannyb is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 10:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware
Posts: 3,475
Default

Did you check my computer for the drive? Your Windows may not pop up like others.
turtile is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 10:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

turtile,

Thanks for the response! Yes, I checked for the drive and it's not there. I plug in a 1 gb or smaller card and everthing works great but when I plug in a 2 gb card nothing happens.

dannyb
dannyb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.