Computer won't power up. help plz! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2006, 05:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default Computer won't power up. help plz!


I'm having trouble powering up my computer. This all started when I decided to switch out my power supply.

Once I switched out my power supply to a Antec truepower 430, the computer will not power up. When i hit the power button, the CPU fan will spin very weak for less than a second and that's it. If I hit the power button again, nothing happens. I have to turn off the power supply and then turn it back on again before i can get the CPU fan to spin. I switched out the Antec and tried my old one, but the same problem still happens. So now i think it's my motherboard and i replace that too, but the same problem is still happening.

Thanks for your help!

Antec 430 Truepower
AMD AthlonXP 2500

kingkaishek is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 07:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102

Let me get this straight: New power supply and motherboard? Did you plug in the 4 pin 12v rail? The only other issue is the CPU itself. I would break down that system to just the mobo and CPU/heatsink+fan. if it will power up then you need to start adding components until it fails and then you will have the culprit. If that fails you will need to do all of the above but take the mobo out of the case. One of your components is shorting and causing your system to power down. The bios will shut down for all errors at POST. It may very well be a dead CPU.

Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2

I ripped it apart and put everything back together and everything is working fine! Thanks for your reply!
kingkaishek is offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 12:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11

any idea on what was going on?
Static_11 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.