computer won't load until restart - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2006, 11:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3
Default computer won't load until restart

Hi i have a problem with my computer. After i turn my computer on the monitor and keyboard aren't recognized until I restart a couple of times and everything works fine after that. I was wondering could it be something to do with my power supply unit or my motherboard? Because after it actually turns on everything works fine, so i wasn't sure it could be my motherboard. I thought it would be the power supply unit because of the strong surge from turning on the computer from scratch.

sparda2049 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Do not Stare at my Avatar
Ste's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,571
Send a message via MSN to Ste

List all components.
List OS and Build.
List and Power supply and all of its electrical description.
When did this problem start?
Did you add any new hardware before occurence?
Was the computer damaged in any way before the occurence?
(IE, Power surge, power failure, Computer droped, Liquid Spilled, etc etc.)

Ste is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 11:55 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3

my computer is 4 years old....
cpu: 2.8 ghz P4
motherboard: asus P4P800S
video card: ati radeon 9200 SE 128mb
hard drive: 120 gb S-ATA western digital
LG dvd burner, Lg dvd rom drive, hp cd burner
kingston 2 x 512 ddr ram
samsung 17 " lcd flat panel
Operating system: windows xp don't know the build
i don't know much about the power supply, and this problem started happening around 3 weeks ago and the last time i changed the hardware on my pc was around a year ago and that was just an addition of a dvd burner. I don't remeber my computer ever being damaged before.
sparda2049 is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,349

clean the dust balls outa your comp if you havnt in the recent past.

other then that, yea you may wont to test with a diff PSU if removing the dust doesnt fix it.
jolancer is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 08:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 3

thanks will give it a try...but i wanna know if it aint the PSU or the dust balls how much do you think it would be for me to replace my motherboard to a similar one...
sparda2049 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.