Computer Wont Boot, Cpu fan not spinning - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 02:44 PM   #31 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 25
Default

if this is your first build, make sure that your mobo is screwed into the small brass stands, not directly onto the case, because that will short it out. i had this exact same problem with my first build, it fried my ram, but i took i to a shop and they told me what was wrong. i just replaced the ram and it works fine now.
__________________

forcemaster99 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 03:32 PM   #32 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

I read somewhere that abit shipped alot of their boards with the reset cmos jumper set to the reset position, Make sure it isn't set to clear! But have you tryed to clear it?
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 03:42 PM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Default

my motherboard is on the screws, its not directly on the case... no I have not tried to clear the CMOS...
kickemall is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:34 PM   #35 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Default

where do I find the jumpers?
kickemall is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:42 PM   #36 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

The manual will tell you.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 12:34 AM   #37 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Make sure there's no dust in the DIMM slot. I had that happen once, there was dust in there and it wouldn't read the RAM, and beeped at me.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.