Computer Wont Boot, Cpu fan not spinning - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2006, 06:17 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
REad his post. His ram is (caps on for emphasis) NON EEC UNBUFFERED RAM. IF IT'S 184 PIN AND AS HE DESCRIBED THEN IT'S NOT EEC REGISTERED BUFFERED RAM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


someone needs to calm the fudge down.

"question: are non-ecc ddr ram and regular ddr ram any different"

seeing as to how this guy is kinduv new to computers, i thought i'd take it upon myself and explain/answer his question. never did i say or indicate what his RAM type was, i merely answered his question. no need for the hissy fit.
__________________

yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:02 PM   #22 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Okay........hisssy fit is over. No power to the AGP slot. Hmmmm..............card works in another puter.
Do you have an old PCI video card lying around? I'd see if you can get video via PCI. May be that your Mobo has headed south!!!! That new card may have pushed your Northbridge chipset over the top!
__________________

__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:07 PM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Default

no, the video card is older... i used it in my old computer... the motherboard and everything else is new. No matter what combination of parts in... take this out, put that in, take out everything except power... i get the same beeping noise when I try to turn it on. And its not a pattern like on the beeping noise diagrams.. its just one long beep after another. The only things that I know works are the power supply and the fans (and the annoying little sounder), so the motherboard is probly working too, because the cpu fan is only connected to it. The only ideas that I have left is that the CPU somehow got damaged as I was installing it (its new too) or the BIOS is not working
kickemall is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 08:45 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

alright if i remember correctly, continuous long beeps for ABIT motherboards mean that the DRAM isn't inserted properly. make sure that the RAM is properly secured in the slots. there should be clips on either side of the RAM slot that grab the RAM stick if it's correctly inserted. dn't be afraid to push it down with alil muscle.
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:41 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Default

i have taken the ram in and out many many times (the sides click in and everything) and tried many different ram cards and it still makes the noise...
kickemall is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 09:47 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

hmmmmmm. alright, not sure if this could be the problem, but look at your motherboard's manual and check out the section that deals with jumpers, make sure that everything is correct, maybe a jumper fell from the motherboard (i doubt this is the problem but it's worth a try).

if that doesn't work, put on latex gloves, carefully remove the processor, and take pics with a camera and then post them up in this thread so we can see if there is any damage. heck, take pictures of everything in your comp, it'll make it easier.
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:00 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 19
Default

i dont rememberspecifically, but if the processor got bumped slightly in installation, could that mess it up?
kickemall is offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 10:03 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kickemall
i dont rememberspecifically, but if the processor got bumped slightly in installation, could that mess it up?
depends where it got bumped. if it got hit on the pins, i'd consider that a plausible issue. if the top of it came in contact with something, that's not a reason for worry.
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 04:17 AM   #29 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

can you tell us what model your video card is?
because if it's an AGP 2X card, it won't work in an AGP 8X slot. AGP 4X cards will though.

BTW yoshiemaster, you have 4 too many userbars. max height is 120 pixels
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 12:14 PM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
can you tell us what model your video card is?
because if it's an AGP 2X card, it won't work in an AGP 8X slot. AGP 4X cards will though.

BTW yoshiemaster, you have 4 too many userbars. max height is 120 pixels
alright i will, i'm at school right now. i'll change it when i get home.
__________________

yoshiemaster is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.