Computer wont boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2005, 07:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default Computer wont boot

Ok, heres the story. I was playing WoW and logged out. I didnt stay to check if it logged out ok or not. When I came back an hour later WoW was still running but semi-transparent so I could see the desktop too. It was frozen so I reset the computer. It got to the loading windows screen and stayed there for over 5 minutes. I reset and tried safe mode--safe mode works. So what I need help with is, what is causing the computer not to start up? Im not getting any BSOD or anything. My friend says its the video card but that would give a BSOD, right?

A64 3500
1gb PC3200 RAM
Geforce 6800 GT

And im using windows xp home edition
__________________

Blender is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 11:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

try this, unplug the video card
turn on computer, plug the monitor to the mobo's port
turn it back off
plug in back the video card
__________________

__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 11:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks so much! It works now

Im kind of wondering what exactly was the problem - Why was it not starting up? Im kind of interested in what was going on with it

Thanks again,
BLENDER
Blender is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 11:36 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blender
Thanks so much! It works now

Im kind of wondering what exactly was the problem - Why was it not starting up? Im kind of interested in what was going on with it

Thanks again,
BLENDER
so you did what i said? or did it just worked out of the blue? lol
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 11:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

No, I did what you said xD Well actually I unplugged the monitor, started the computer, turned it off (power button) then plugged it back in.
Blender is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 11:51 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 293
Default

oh alright
monitor plug was probably loose
it had connections, but wasn't clear on reading the video card to the monitor
thats probably the main reason
__________________
professor at your service
XFlamez is offline  
Old 12-14-2005, 01:24 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Default

Hmm ... I still dont understand why it could start in safe mode
__________________

Blender is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.