computer won't boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2008, 07:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default computer won't boot

i have a computer with a ecs mobo, and a 3600+ (am2) that isn't booting. it gets to the post screen and states the main processor and then just stops and is completely unresponsive, no alt+ctrl+del or del (to enter bios), or f8 (to choose boot options). has anyone had this problem before? i've pretty much narrowed it down to the cpu or mobo, but i have no way to test either of them.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 10:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 90
Default Re: computer won't boot

pull out the mobo and check it for burn marks and check the capacitors. Ive heard ECS mobos have a habit of burning out. one way you can check is to find another am2 processor and drop it in there or take that processor and put it in another am2 mobo.
__________________

the_patriot2008 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: computer won't boot

yeah i know i think im just going to RMA it and then maybe i can exchange it and i can get something a little less reliable. and i actually forgot its a PC Chips board my mistake.. the problem with that is i don't have another am2 cpu or mobo.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: computer won't boot

Google search ultimate boot disk you down load the iso and burn to CD. The PC will boot to the CD there is a CPU test on there. Something for you to try if you can get it to boot to CD.
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:15 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: computer won't boot

yeah i have a ultimate boot cd, its just my computer won't post at all. it shows the processor and thats it, doesn't even get to check the ram and then becomes completely unresponsive.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 12:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: computer won't boot

I had a video card do that one time. Are u using onboard video?
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 01-03-2008, 02:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: computer won't boot

yeah i am.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: computer won't boot

hi there,

try disconnecting your HD before getting rid of your mobo. I had the same problem 3 days ago while building a new system using some old components and the solution worked for me!

regards
cyclopath is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 12:54 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2
Default Re: computer won't boot

hi there,

try disconnecting your HD before getting rid of your mobo. I had the same problem 3 days ago while building a new system using some old components and the solution worked for me!

regards
cyclopath is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 02:02 AM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: computer won't boot

only thing connected right now is RAM, mobo, and cpu. all drives are disconnected. im pretty sure its a dead mobo, i've never actually seen a cpu burn up in the 5 years i've been building, but i have seen 6 or 7 dead mobo's.
__________________

__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Along came a hub, a switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 21 01-10-2013 04:13 AM
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
Harddrive won't boot, should I put it on a working computer? akasixcon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-21-2007 08:36 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
That annoying computer..... Ethereal_Dragon Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-06-2007 12:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.