computer will not start up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2007, 11:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default computer will not start up

After downloading a anti-spyware program from my internet provider, i restarted like it told me to. After restarting, my computer became very, very slow and when I tried to run programs, my computer overheated around 71c, it shuts down automatically. I tried to use my computer over and over again and it shutdown like always after like 2 minutes. After a while, the computer refused to start up, sometimes it froze during windows load up, and sometimes there was no signal going to my monitor. I am now unable to use windows because it freezes before entering windows/ or no signal to monitor. I tried to restore the computer but it refuses to do so.

Anyone have an idea? I thought it might be my processor but i'm not sure
__________________

Transerver is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 12:00 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Re-format?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 12:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default

i'm not able to do anything since it doesn't run my restore cd
Transerver is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 08:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 238
Default

can u go into ur bios atleast?
xtpacygax is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

the fact the temp was 72C is worrying and if that reading is from just the BIOS before even starting up, then odds are the pc is overheating causing it to freeze and shutdown.

I would open up your pc and check to see if your fan is working or covered in dust.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 11:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default

My fans are working just fine.

And no, i cannot get into bios,

freezes after saying : Main processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.66GHz(133.20.0)
Transerver is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 12:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

maybe this will work. Take that hard drive(os Installed one) go on another pc. hook it up as a slave, uninstall anti-spyware program that caused your pc to mess up
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 12:58 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default

ill give it a try
Transerver is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 01:25 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Transerver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 152
Send a message via AIM to Transerver
Default

when i get to` the option of safe mode or normal windows, i chose start normally and it just froze. when i chose safe mode, bunch of code came up but no safe mode started
Transerver is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 07:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 18
Default

Sounds like you forgot to set your bad harddrive as the slave. Your friend's (or 2nd) computer should start normally as if nothing has changed, allowing you to access the HD from My Computer. Read the instructions on the case of the harddrive; it will explain how to make that drive a slave drive. If you've done this and it still isn't working, make sure the good drive is selected in your BIOS as the first boot option, and your bad harddrive is second. You may also wish to check if both drives are showing up in the BIOS.
__________________

rahlzel is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.