Computer Will Not Power On - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread

Old 05-30-2009, 06:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie

Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default Computer Will Not Power On

First off, I am an experienced system builder. Typically if a system doesn't boot, at least it will do some pre-POST sounds and lights. This time, I may as well not even have the thing plugged in.

Here's the config: E7400, ASROCK G43TWINS Mobo, TR2-430W PSU, G-Skill DDR2-1066 RAM (2x2gb). That's all that's hooked up right now, and I don't get lights or anything.

I was thinking bad PSU, but I plugged it into another computer and it turned on just fine. I thought bad power switch and I tried shorting the power pins, but still got nothing.

I even tried removed the battery and setting it to clear the CMOS even though without the mobo powering up I don't see that making a difference.

I'm baffled. Is my mobo DOA? Is there some way I could have moronically connected something wrong to result in this? I'm sure the 24-pin power connector is on right (God knows I checked it plenty of times), the northbridge 4-pin power is also connected, and I tried it without one, the other, or both with identical problems (although either should allow the PSU to at least fire up its fans).

Ideas?

Dan

Old 05-30-2009, 06:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker

Default Re: Computer Will Not Power On

Try with only 1 stick of RAM. Try in a different slot, etc. Try removing all of the RAM and then try booting as well; you should get a POST error that there's no RAM. Then try individual sticks.

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
Old 05-30-2009, 06:47 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie

Send a message via Yahoo to SirCyber