Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2009, 02:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

The topic really says it all. Friday night, I used my computer to watch a movie with friends, and then turned it off overnight. The next morning I got up early because I had to drive somewhere that day. I turned it on because I wanted to print directions, but nothing. The fans will turn on and light up, but it wont post. Monitor wont recieve signal, keyboard and mouse wont light up ect. I shut it off and decided not to mess with it until last night when I got back.

My frist thought was that it had something to do with overclocking instability, since it was running at 3.6ghz up from 2.4. But I found this hard to believe because it has been running rock solid with zero crashes for a year now. I took off the side panel and tried to reset the CMOS with a screwdriver which always worked in the past. Still same result. The computer will light up and fans spin for 10 seconds, then shuts off. Then lights up again, repeating over and over till i make it shut off. Any guesses? Sorry I don't have any parts to swap out to determine the cause. But thanks for your help either way. This is also bad because I'm at college and its my only computer on hand.
__________________

__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Guantanomo Bay, Cuba
Posts: 546
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

A few things can happen here:
1) Bad RAM (I've seen it happen)
2) Bad logic board battery (depends on your MB, google it)
3) Bad power supply (even if it "mostly" works, you won't pass POST)
4) Bad processor (Not likely, but possible)
__________________

SparkMonkeyHellion is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 12:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

could be a bad gfx card too! i just had this problem in my post a few down from yours
__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 08:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Yee Ol' Salt
 
Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 642
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

I would say from the sound of it, it's your GPU, could be MB or PSU.. you could try taking out 1 stick of ram.. then see if it boots.. then switch them around if it won't work the first time.

if the above doesn't work.. take out your GPU and then try booting without it.. you won't see anything on the screen obviously but you will hear if it boots correctly and that will tell you if it is your gpu or not.
__________________

Find my post helpful? IF so please rate me by clicking the green check mark under my avatar.





:D Antec 300|M3N72-D|AMD PHM II X3 BE 720 3.0ghz (CodeName "Heka")|OCZ Stealth Xtreme 600w|2 two gig OCZ DDR2 1066 gold 4 GB of Ram|BFG-GTX 260 512||Samsung 42" Plasma| XP x86 sp3 /Vista x386 and x64|
The face I make everytime I'm on my machine :eek:
Hampton is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

Alright I'll give it a shot tonight. Thanks.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 02-10-2009, 10:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

try disconnecting the power and removing the battery, then resetting the CMOS in the usual fashion.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 12:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 576
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

Here is what I have done so far:

1. I removed the video card completly then turned on the rig. Still no difference, it will turn on then off and repeat. So I put the card back in.

2. I removed one of my ram sticks. Still same result. I then swap and take out the other. Now, the computer will stay on and remain powered, but still no post. The mouse will light up though.

Nitestick, I will do what you say next.
__________________
Stacker 830 - e6600 @ 3.6ghz - Eva 9800GTX+
X-Fi Xtrememusic - 4GB OCZ SLI 1066
Sceptre 20.1" - Logitech Z5500 - Gigabyte DS3 965p
RalliArt882 is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 08:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Hookster264's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 162
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

It's funny how a system will run smooth and will reboot nicely, but when powered off for a day it will run into all kinds of problems.

Try booting with one stick of RAM and try it in each slot. Then try the other stick in each slot too.

Do you get an error post sequence that you can look up for further diagnostic, or just nothing at all?
__________________

Xion XON-180 Case
OCZ ModXStream 600w 50A on +12V
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 AM3+ mobo
AMD FX-4170 Zambezi 4.2GHz [stock heatsink]
2 x 4Gb DDR3 1866 G.Skill Sniper RAM
Corsair GT 60Gb SATA3 SSD
Evga GTX 465 GPU
Windows 7 Premium
Hookster264 is offline  
Old 02-11-2009, 08:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

my gigabyte board does this too, only when i have a sandisk cruzer micro flashdrive pluged in and when the clock skews are set too high.

so considering that you have reset the cmos it cant be your overclock.

or it could be a failing PSU.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 02-12-2009, 02:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Computer Will not post, even after CMOS reset

Quote:
2. I removed one of my ram sticks. Still same result. I then swap and take out the other. Now, the computer will stay on and remain powered, but still no post. The mouse will light up though.
sounds like your memory may be dead my friend.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hijack log bdruff HijackThis Logs (finished) 22 01-07-2009 11:33 PM
CMOS and Motherboard troubles shade73 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-02-2008 12:32 AM
Computer won't boot, fans stall, no POST Ach-och Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 11-07-2007 01:27 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
How to Reset Your CMOS SHAWN Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 28 04-01-2007 12:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.