Computer Voltage question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-29-2006, 05:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5
Default Computer Voltage question

I'm running the program Hmonitor and it is showing my Voltage for +12V at +13.76V and my Aux. at 2.46V. Are these ok numbers for these two variables to be at? I only ask because the program has the two numbers "highlighted" in red, which to me means "danger". Sis Sandra also confirms close-to the same numbers. Thanks.

deltablues is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

13.76 is way above normal and its too rare to be true , its more likely the programs reading the sensor incorrectly or the sensor is faking big time , use the mobo manufacturer program it might give more accurate readings and check voltages in bios goto pc health/hardware monitoring and report back with the +3.3V/+5V/+12V , if similar in bios then get a digital multimeter and measure the voltages with it (will give the most accurate readings) see these guides

jeremy is offline  
Old 03-29-2006, 05:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
TheMajor's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177

My 12v is at 12.5v
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 09:09 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5

My BIOS Information: American Megatrends, INC. v.02.54

vcore: 1.440V
vcc2.5v: 2.46V
vddq: 1.472V
vcc5v: 4.919V
SB3v: 3.440V

I only post these because I don't know how to read all of them or if they even help my problem, but that is all my BIOS had to offer.

I have a PCCHIPS Socket 462(AMD 7) M863G (v5.1C). I couldn't find any programs offered through PCCHIPS specifically that would monitor, and the BIOS is still up to date so I suppose I can't get anymore information out of it.
deltablues is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:42 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.