Computer turns off by itself when playing 3d games - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-30-2005, 05:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Default Computer turns off by itself when playing 3d games

My computer specs are:

Windows XP SP2
MSI K8T Neo m/b
AMD 64 bit 3400+ cpu
Powercolor x800 XT Platinum video card
Sound Blaster Live!
Western Digital 120 GB IDE HDD (Master, WIN XP installed on it)
Western Digital 40 GB IDE HDD (Slave)
Western Digital 200 GB SATA HDD
Lite-on CD burner (LTR-52246S) - Master
Pioneer DVD-RW (DVR-107D) - Slave
1 GB of ram (Kingston)
Thermaltake 420W Power Supply

Everything was fine till about a week ago. Lately when trying to run a 3d game such as Quake 3 or Guild wars, you can play for 5 min or even 2 hours and then the comp will just turn off without warning. It then won't restart immediately. Often you have to wait 5 to 10 min before you can re-start it.

Possible causes:

(1) Power supply is underpowered. I wouldn't have thought so, everything was fine with this configuration for about a year till now.

(2) Power supply is faulty or damaged. Its possible. I had a couple of power surges a few weeks ago. My comp wouldn't turn on again for about half a hour.
I've installed a surge protector since but may have been too late.

(3) Video card is faulty. A few weeks ago I installed one of those ATI Silencer heat sink and fans. My original fan was rattling and decided to change it. Maybe I damaged some component on the Vid card when I switched heat sinks? I was trying to be careful but maybe I stuffed something.

I can't think of any other reasons. Nothing is overclocked on my system.

Any thoughts?

TonyH is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 04:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813

That's a lot to run off a 420W power supply IMO, I would try upgrading that. Even if that's not the cause of the problem, it's probably a worthwhile upgrade looking at your system specs.

The only other thing I could think of is the cpu temps, have you checked them in your BIOS yet?

Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-30-2005, 05:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474

its pretty good computer.... he doesn't even need to upgrade. 420w psu is good enough also. I would go and check the temp in bios, or check if it has any spyware, or virus on your computer also.
nuke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:00 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.