Computer Trouble, dying - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-04-2007, 07:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default Computer Trouble, dying

Hello

my secendary computer seems to be fighting for its life at the moment. its a busy computer working for gaming during the day to TV at night, has very little rest [around 5 years old].
lately it has been turning off unexpectedly and requiring me to wait awhile then switch the PSU off and on - then turn on, to get working again.

I figuered that the computer was overheating because the computer needed some time before i could start it up again.

It mostly shutsdown when playing CSS or GW.
and for some strange reason it shuts down more rarely [thogh it still does] when its booted into linux.

All considered what do you think i should do?

x86 Intel Pentium 4 2.4ghz
512 megs of ram
RADEON 9250 128 meg graphics
__________________

IDerekI is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 08:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

Sounds like you are having an overheating problem caused by dust. The reason it shuts down less in linux is because linux is not as intense as windows. To fix it all you have to do is open the computer open and blow all the dust out of there. what type of computer is it? a custom "home build" or a prebuild (dell, hp, compaq, gateway, etc...)

just clear all the dust out and that should fix it.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 10:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 48
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bmxfreakrider
Sounds like you are having an overheating problem caused by dust. The reason it shuts down less in linux is because linux is not as intense as windows. To fix it all you have to do is open the computer open and blow all the dust out of there. what type of computer is it? a custom "home build" or a prebuild (dell, hp, compaq, gateway, etc...)

just clear all the dust out and that should fix it.
I agree that its probably a heating issue, and as much as dust can cause it, simply cleaning it isn't always a fix.

Machines will also run warmer as they get older. Go get a copy of speedfan to keep track of temperatures in your case. Get a can of air, and clean the dust from the inside of the case. Afterward, pay attention to the temps from speedfan.

If your still seeing heat issues, you may want to look into a better heatsink and fan.
zep867 is offline  
Old 02-04-2007, 11:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

What are your temps?
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Im not sure what to make of all these stats speedfan is throwing at me but..

temp1 : 43.C
temp2 : 40.C
temp3 : -55.C
HD0 : 43.C
Temp1 : 40.C


Fan1 : 3668 RPM
Fan2 : 0 RPM
Fan3 : 0 RPM

today the computer hasnt died once!. cant explain it but that must be good.
IDerekI is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Oh yea and i purchased this computer from some company that went bankrupt quite awhile ago, i imagn thay just put it together outa cheap parts.

costed 6 thousand dollers -_-.

Oh yea and writen on the PSU there is 150W combined , 250W total. Does that make it is a 250W PSU?


Just running SpyBot S&D then will AVG anti virus on it, letz see what it finds.
IDerekI is offline  
Old 02-05-2007, 10:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Default

Oh no! speed fan is alerting me!

Temp1 : 59.C
Temp2 : 41.C
Temp3 : -55.C
HD0 : 43.C
Temp1 : 40.C


Fan1 : 3590 RPM
Fan2 : 0 RPM
Fan3 : 0 RPM

and SpyBot S&D is finding alot! of spywere.

lol i have abused this PC as a secendry for too long only looking after my main.


What would Temp1 be?
IDerekI is offline  
Old 02-06-2007, 12:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

6k for that???!!
__________________

__________________
Rundat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.