Computer temp? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2006, 02:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default Computer temp?

Okay. After asking many various n00b questions I now have my computer set up. It keeps on crashing in the middle of a game and sometimes even not when I'm in a game. I'm pretty sure my computer is running to hot. (Some where aroun 150 degrees farenheight).

I know that's to hot. So my question is how do I check my Cpu, mother board, and gpu temperature? And how do I change it?
__________________

Winner is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 02:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

download everest:

http://www.majorgeeks.com/download.php?det=4181

then once open in the left hand side choose computer then in the new menu, pick sensor and it`ll tell you the CPU, GPU, hard drive temps and fan speed post them back here.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

All temperatures are in Farenheight:

Motherboard: 90
CPU: 145
GPU: 117
AUX: 108
HDD: 93
Winner is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 02:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

they look ok to me although the CPU is a little high for my liking If its AMD that's high although tolerable, if its intel probably within safe limits.

what was the speed of your fan?

have you gone into your BIOS to see if there's a fan control and turn it up to max.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

I have amd 3800. I did go into bios and turn the fan speed to 104 degrees(the coolest option) for the processor. Is there anything else I can do? Like stick a big fan where the side panel is. Or is the temp of the cpu not the problem of my crashing computer?
Winner is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

what graphics card do you have? you might need to update its drivers.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

eVGA 7600 gt
Winner is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

Is 3125 rpm good for cpu fan speed?
Winner is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

do you no what drivers you have installed with it?

go to start right click on my computer>properties

then click the hardware tab click device manager

open up +display adapters and rick click your 7600 and choose properties

choose the driver tab at the top and look for where it says driver version what are the numbers?

EDIT: yes thats fine
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 06-18-2006, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 23
Default

8.4.5.6 are the numbers
__________________

Winner is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.