Computer takes 5 hours to boot? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2005, 05:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Question Computer takes 5 hours to boot?

ok well im having a problem with my sig computer. whenever i press the power button the fans run and everything and it just takes very very very long time to boot up. with my 9800pro in there it doesnt boot at all, but if i stick in my TNT2 sometimes it will boot, like right now its not booting... do you think its my video card or could it be something else?i cleared the CMOS. i checked the power connections and everything else. it just wont boot up DARN IT! now i cant play any of my games
__________________

__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 05:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706
Default

how longs it been doing it?

if the heatsink is seated properly and all cords are pluged in, it might be a software problem, then again something else might be getting hot...

which brings me to another question, if a computer gets to *hot then why does it *freeze?

need some more details, what all have you tried... you might check the ram...
__________________

Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

did you try removing devices and trying a barebone boot... Just take everything out, but leave the essential components in only. After each sucessful boot, put 1 more part in and try to pinpoint what the problem device is.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 06:12 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

try using a cdrom linux distrobution (like knoppix) and see if it suffers from the same problems, or it is just windows.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 10-28-2005, 08:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

ok so 1) i took the video card out and tried it, video card is OK

2) tried the ram in my dell and it works fine

3) what are the barebone, cpu, video card, hdd, cpu fan, vga fan is that all?

4) i tried sticking in my install disk into the cd drive but it just keeps on closing on me, like if i press the eject button it ejects then really fast
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 02:00 AM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

When it starts to boot press f8 a bunch of times to start in safe mode and see if it will boot faster.Have you been using more than one vid card or have you changed the vid card latly.Check your divice manager in your control panel system divice manager and see if you have more than one vid driver that is if it will start in safe mode.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 07:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

i cant get on my computer cause it wont turn on...hmm going to try the barebone boot right now
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 01:02 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
PZEROFGH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,553
Send a message via AIM to PZEROFGH
Default

just did a barebone boot, seems like my mobo is broken?!?!>
__________________
Hmmm?
AIM/Xfire - pzerofgh
PZEROFGH is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 02:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
uzi9mm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Horseheads, NY
Posts: 2,553
Default

well tell me exactly what you have plugged in. and what parts you have still in/connected to the computer.
__________________
INTEL i7 930
ASUS P6X58D
3x2gb Corsair Dominators
EVGA GTX 480
CORSAIR 850-HX
uzi9mm is offline  
Old 10-29-2005, 02:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Default

How was your file structure on your computer, did you have anti-virus, and network security, what I think it is that your windows boot sector is corrupted and this can be caused by many things, norton systemworks, goback, registry cleaners, so called spyware removers, and even not starting and shutting down your computer regularly will sometimes do this. What I suggest Is backup your data and get ready to reconfigure your system, you seem like you have a desent computer so it will be worth the time to do it right, Get all updated drivers for the devices in the computer especially 9800 pro, sorry to say but no getting this back up to speed.
__________________

bmalesky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.