computer stopped booting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2005, 08:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

that's because the mere fact a cd drive is failing doesn't mean your computer won'tt boot. it probably depends mostly on the tolerance of the BIOS for errors more than anything else. it is a possibility

edit: wooooo 800 posts

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 01:24 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111

Failing CD causes PC not to boot. Oh, c'mon. What a bunch of rubbish. He's just having you on, mate.

The box said \"Requires Windows 98 or better\" I installed Linux. There\'s no going back.
GX1_Man is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 01:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher

Originally posted by GX1_Man
Failing CD causes PC not to boot. Oh, c'mon. What a bunch of rubbish. He's just having you on, mate.
It can very well happen. I have seen it many times. Not so much that it is the CD-ROM drive..well technly yes it would be..but more so that the BIOS is having issues with a piece of hardware. Not saying that everytime a CD-ROM drive goes bad or is failing will cause it not to boot, but it could be a possibilty.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800

ok well try Disconnection the CDROM

NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64

I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.