computer stopped booting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 09:11 AM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

that's because the mere fact a cd drive is failing doesn't mean your computer won'tt boot. it probably depends mostly on the tolerance of the BIOS for errors more than anything else. it is a possibility

edit: wooooo 800 posts
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:24 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 111
Default

Failing CD causes PC not to boot. Oh, c'mon. What a bunch of rubbish. He's just having you on, mate.
__________________

__________________
The box said \"Requires Windows 98 or better\"....so I installed Linux. There\'s no going back.
GX1_Man is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 02:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GX1_Man
Failing CD causes PC not to boot. Oh, c'mon. What a bunch of rubbish. He's just having you on, mate.
It can very well happen. I have seen it many times. Not so much that it is the CD-ROM drive..well technly yes it would be..but more so that the BIOS is having issues with a piece of hardware. Not saying that everytime a CD-ROM drive goes bad or is failing will cause it not to boot, but it could be a possibilty.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 10-15-2005, 03:47 AM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 833
Send a message via ICQ to Amd2800 Send a message via AIM to Amd2800 Send a message via Yahoo to Amd2800
Default

ok well try Disconnection the CDROM
__________________

__________________
NEW PC : The I5-2500 3.3ghz
CPU : Intel I5-2500 @ 3.3Ghz *SandyBridge* - Ram : 8GB DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Asus P8H67-M Pro
HDD0 : 1TB Sata 2 - GFX : ATI Radeon HD6950 2GB - Sound: Realtek 5.1 Onboard - OS1 : Windows 7 Ultimate X64

Dell Studio 1747 Laptop
CPU : Intel I7 - Q720 @ 1.66Ghz - Ram: 4GB Ram DDR3 1333Mhz Dual Channel - Mobo : Dell - HDD: 2x 500GB Sata 2 - OS1: Windows 7 Ultimate X64





Quote:
I want a processor in my brain..... Can i upgrade my ram?

Amd2800 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.