Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-02-2008, 06:27 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

It started when I downloaded some windows updates. It said there were updates for my MOBO: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail, video card (8800GTX) and one other that I don't recall now.

I didn't download the updated driver for my video card, because I had DLed the one from Nvidia.com (Forceware 169.25 for Windows Vista 32-bit).

After I downloaded the updates and restarted, I could hear my computer starting up to the sign-in screen, but the monitor was saying there was no signal. I could even type in my PW and hit enter, and hear the computer finish the sign in. So it seems like a video problem.

I tried doing a system restore to a couple of days previously, but it didn't seem to help. I can power up in safe mode, but when I try to reinstall the drivers for my video card, it does the same thing. My question I guess is, how will I know if it is something wrong with my video card, or if it is a software conflict of some sort?

I have had this PC built for about a week now and had no problems until this latest microsoft update (**** you MS!).
__________________

Jermanfu is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 08:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

Make sure the on board video is disabled in bios if using an off board video card.
__________________

__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 09:13 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Typhoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: London
Posts: 74
Send a message via MSN to Typhoon
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

I had same problem, On my emachine, Pc comes on, but dont detect monitor
__________________
Www.iTyphoon.org
Typhoon is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 09:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by helix2301 View Post
Make sure the on board video is disabled in bios if using an off board video card.
Or a simple way is plug in your moniter into the onboard video connector, instead of messing with the bios 1st
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 09:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
helix2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Datacenter
Posts: 280
Send a message via AIM to helix2301
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

You are going to have to plug into onboard video to make bios change. Sorry I forgot to mention that.
__________________
lipanitech
http://www.thetechnologygeek.org
HP Pro, A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCTS
helix2301 is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 05:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

I made it into the BIOS. I don't see an option anywhere for on board video. I may have missed it though, if anyone is familiar with my MOBO.

Also, I tried reinstalling Vista since everything was working fine until this last update. The only problem is, reinstalling doesn't do a complete wipe. There are some files left behind. Does anyone know how to do a complete wipe of the HD if I want to start completely over?
Jermanfu is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 05:43 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

During the vista install there should be an option to format the drive you wish to use to install.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 06:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

thanks for the replies guys. I'll try to do a clean install as a last resort I guess. First off though, back to the onboard video. I located the monitor connector for what I think is the onboard video.

Once I get into the BIOS, does anyone know how I can access the on board video settings for my particualr MOBO? I've looked through the different settings, but can't seem to locate it.
Jermanfu is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 07:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

That motherboard does not have onboard graphics.

Try booting into safe mode and using system restore to go back to before whatever happened. It sounds to me like:
  1. your GFX card failed (but you wouldn't see the BIOS either)
  2. the drivers screwed you over
  3. the updates screwed you over
  4. combination of 2 & 3
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-02-2008, 07:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 32
Default Re: Computer starts up, but Monitor is not getting a signal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
That motherboard does not have onboard graphics.

Try booting into safe mode and using system restore to go back to before whatever happened. It sounds to me like:
  1. your GFX card failed (but you wouldn't see the BIOS either)
  2. the drivers screwed you over
  3. the updates screwed you over
  4. combination of 2 & 3
Thanks I just noticed on the specs for my board that there is no on board video. I'll try your suggestions and if nothing else I guess I'll RMA my video card.
__________________

Jermanfu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer Jokes. Kharn Off Topic Discussion 8 12-19-2007 12:09 AM
Computer works when horizontal only?! beefpuff Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 12-13-2007 04:37 AM
computer freezes/beeps forever cullensmi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-12-2007 12:40 PM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.