computer shuts off if i unplug power cord - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2006, 03:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Send a message via AIM to LIMPBIZKO
Question computer shuts off if i unplug power cord

when i unplug the power cord on my laptop or it pops out when i move it, it just shuts off.and before that when i tried to turn it on, the cap locks light just blinked about 10 times and it didnt do anything.Then i got it fixed and now it turns off when the power cord comes unpluged.i mean what the **** is going on.can someone help.
__________________

LIMPBIZKO is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245
Default

umm...either you don't have a battery, it's dead or it's broken...
__________________

jdhore1 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 04:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

i've lately heard that this next option is bad for the battery, but none have been credible sources.... so try to recalibrate the battery.
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245
Default

usually, if the battery is not calibrated, he'd just get crappy battery life...It would still work...Right??
jdhore1 is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

how would I go about recalibrating a battery, one of my laptop batteries is utter crap.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 05:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 94
Default

i'm pretty sure you just charge it till it's 100% full, then let it drain out till it has no life in it, then charge it to 100% again.
yoshiemaster is offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 06:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 245
Default

i believe so...also, some laptop BIOS's have a recalibration function built-in...My crappy Dell does...
__________________

jdhore1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.