Computer shuts itself down - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-10-2006, 06:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 92

i have to concur that the psu is definitely the main problem. the voltages are way off. i had a system that suffered shutdowns each time i loaded a game and it was because the psu could not supply enough power to the cpu and gpu.

the other issue is the temps, all i could say is wow! i have never seen any board run that hot. it could be a misread and the cpu temp could be 102C and the motherboard is at 61C. that seems more logical, however those temps are still way to high and it could mean the thermal paste needs replacing or the cpu fan is not working. the breeze you feel could be just the psu fan.

cdkiller [everything is to be replicate]
cdkiller is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 06:42 PM   #12 (permalink)
Monster Techie
FlashDude's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude

A socket 478 p4 has a thermal spec of around 80c that means it stops becoming a solid at around that temp and melts!! lol Your board isn't 100c if it was it would be ozzing out of the ports!! Just because the outside of your pc is "cleaner then most" doesn't mean anthing, You must find a way to take it apart and look at the hsf, If it has a fan (it might have heatpipe style that leads to a heatsink close to the vents where there should be a fan. (like a laptop) and you must get that cleaned! If you are the type of person that leaves their pc on and its been 2years,,,,Its dirty!

FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 07:13 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6

well my friend suggested i take it apart and clean out the dust... that's about all i can do by myself. anything more technical than that will need specialist help

thanks everyone
loveariddle is offline  
Old 05-10-2006, 07:16 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533

Originally posted by loveariddle
i installed sandra, there was some kinda server error..
uninstall & reinstall , if the error remains then use the mobo manufacturer software or just look in bios

Originally posted by cdkiller
i have to concur that the psu is definitely the main problem. the voltages are way off
how you reached that conclusion? they look stable on the screenshot

jeremy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.