Computer Shuts Down Unexpectedly - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-13-2005, 08:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default Computer Shuts Down Unexpectedly

My Custom Computer Specs:

P4 3.0 GHz
1 GB Ram
Radeon 9600Pro Video Card
80 GB HD
Windows XP

Just recently my computer started shutting down randomly whenever it feels like it. I dont know if its a hardware, virus, or power problem. Please help me I am desperate to fix it.

Also, my monitor recently started acting weird. When I turn on my computer and turn on my monitor, my monitor would stall for 30 seconds before showing anything. The status light would be orange for 30 seconds and then turn green and then Ill start seeing things on the screen.

I am going crazy. Help.
__________________

bjoo109 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 09:01 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,574
Default

When you say shut down, is this an instant power off or it is just as if you had shut down Windows properly?
__________________

__________________


\'There is only one basic human right, and that is to do as you **** well please.
And with it comes the only basic human duty, to take the consequences.\'



m3trj is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 10:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

instant power off
bjoo109 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

its probably the motherboard is bad or the power supply. when does this happen.
nuke is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 06:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

this happens approximately after 20-30 minutes after turning my computer on.

if the motherboard is the problem what should i do? i have an ASUS P4S800

if its the power supply should i replace it? its between 250-350 Watts. Will any power supply fit?

could it be a virus?

should i try cleaning out the dust on the inside?
bjoo109 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 474
Default

only 300 watts, thats not enough man. you need at least 350+ watt psu.
nuke is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 08:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

i built this computer myself and its been working fine for more than a year. it just started happening when i moved into my new apartment. Maybe my wall sockets dont supply enough electricity. the power supply came with my aspire case. is aspire known for bad power supply? if i buy any power supply will it fit in my tower?
bjoo109 is offline  
Old 10-13-2005, 08:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

Correction: I have a 420 W power supply in my Aspire turbo case. Lets say i decide to get a new power supply, is aspire power supply recommended or can i put a Antec power supply in it?
bjoo109 is offline  
Old 10-16-2005, 07:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 7
Default

CAN SOMEONE HELP ME?
bjoo109 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 05:27 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1
Default I have the same situation!!

bjoo19, I'm in the same situation! I kid you not, I too built a computer about a year and a half ago, then when I moved into my new place the computer started shutting down unexpectedly, as if someone just flipped the switch. I'm thinking that it's perhaps the power supply, but I'm not sure. If you find any solutions or causes, please let me know! I'm just as frustrated here :P
__________________

hyprlogik is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.