Computer shuts down. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2007, 01:40 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Computer shuts down.

My puter shuts down randomly on its own.

I can make it shut down by opening CPU-z.
But otherwise it just shuts itself down even when It is idle.

I noticed when overclocking my Athlons that when there is not enough Voltage that this is a typical occurence.

However
I took the overclock off and reset the bios to default settings. And reset my RAM to default. And it still does this.

My temps according to CoreTemp. Idle ~30 ~40 load.

The temps may spike when opening CPU-Z but it does not explain the shutdowns when the only thing happening is Outlook and I am not even at my desk.

Any ideas where to start?

I ran Memtest for a few hours and no errors.??


Thanks for any input.

Cheers
__________________

__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 02:38 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Silly Valley
Posts: 298
Default Re: Computer shuts down. Resolved FYI ****

First off thanks for all the replies! JK

I also posted elswhere and was directed to check this link out which so far looks to be right on!

Looks like CoreTemp .95 is conflicting

This may come in handy again here , thus the update.

Cheers
__________________
My Rig: "Sandy" used for stock trading
Windows 7 pro
Case-Corsair Obsidian550D
Motherboard- ASrock X79Xtreme6 LGA 2011
CPU- I7-3930K Sandy
PSU- Seasonic X650 Gold
SSD- Corsair Neutron GTX240
HD- WD 1TB Sata6 64MB
Ram-Corsair Vengeance 16gb (4x4gb)
GPU- 3x EVGA Geforce GT-640 2GB 128B
Cooling- Monsoon S2 & SwiftechMCP655-PWM
Alphacool 80mmx120mm rad
XSPC RX120 rad
3 Noctua 140mm
5 120mm Gentle typhoons
NZXT fan controller
Razer Black Widow Chroma keyboard
Razer deathadder chroma mouse
4x27", 2x19", 1x24", 1x36" & 1x55" monitors
cliffhucker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blue bios screen then computer shuts down Nick Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 06-20-2007 10:40 AM
HELP!!!! I disabled my graphics card by accident, need help!! Wildside Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 5 06-16-2007 07:29 PM
Some upgrading / building new computer and counseling needed akasixcon New Systems | Building and Buying 5 04-21-2007 10:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.