Computer Shutdowns - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2006, 01:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default Computer Shutdowns

Starting this morning, my computer just randomly shuts down, it has done it about 3 times so far. It does not give me an error, im not overclocking anything but my video card, and i just installed a new 430 watt power supply. I have checked for spyware and viruses, and ran checkdisk, im out of ideas. Any ideas anyone?
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Can you check your temp in your Bios ?

How long does it take before your machine shuts down ?
Are you playing games when it shuts down ?
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 01:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Try the old power supply, if it doesn't happen then you should RMA the one you took out.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 01:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

My temps are below 50 degrees celsius in bios. and sometimes im playing games when it turns off, and sometimes i am just browsing the internet or on my desktop. The shut down is instant, no error no warning, just off.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 01:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

I let my friend use my old power supply, so i was hoping i could save that as a last resort to have to switch the new one out. If it comes down to it i will try that but i would like to try to wait for that.
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 03:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 69
Send a message via AIM to Cold123
Default

/bump
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ 2.2ghz Proc.
A-Bit NF7-S2G Mobo.
768mb DDR400 PC3200 RAM
Nvidia Geforce 6800GT
Cold123 is offline  
Old 01-16-2006, 03:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Its definitly Power supply related, so ya.. You need to try differen't power supply.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.