computer screen scramble/glitch, imminent failure, read on and help pls - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-09-2006, 07:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default computer screen scramble/glitch, imminent failure, read on and help pls

Sooo... I moved into a new apt. Much like moving into the last something inevitably fooked up on my puter. Last time a power surge took out a hard drive. This time, I think it was a magnet. I had a small 9 inch television on my desk next to my tower. The speaker on the tv was on its side, next to my tower, where my drive would be. Stupid me. I didn't think til it was too late.

but I'm not sure if it's the drive that was messed up by that, or anything, or if the tv had anything to do with it. First of all, when things started messing up the screen would get all glitchy/scrambly looking and freeze. I'd restarted, things would be fine for a while, then it'd happen again. I thought it was the heat, it's been real hot here. Then it happened and windows would no longer boot. I figured it was the drive, so I bought a new one. I moved the tv way away from my desk, installed the drive, went to install windows...and it did the same thing again. Glitch/scramble then freeze, and ... yuh. That's my problem. It wont go without doing this long enough for me to reinstall windows. What could it possibly be? I can get to my bios and everything. It'll boot normally. ...then shortly there after glitch

What could it beee?
__________________

nebsgore is offline  
Old 07-09-2006, 10:01 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I don't think its the monitor. Try to set your Bios to default for starters. Have you checked to make sure everything is plugged in good? Anything get knocked loose? What I usually do if I cant find the problem I take everything out of the tower like all the plug in cards the ram cables And CPU if your comfortable doing that and reinstall everything. Just ground yourself before working inside your computer.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 06:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

For sure check to see if there is anything that came loose, specifically the video card and ram. Take them out and reinstall them.
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Your hard drive would have to be placed in a MRI uint before data would be corrupted...it ain't the TV. All the above suggestions are good ones!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I made sure everything was plugged in. I managed to get through a windows installation, then while setting stuff back up it happened again. I noticed my processor was only running at 1.2ghz, though. It should've been running at 2.4. I've a p4c2.4 w/HT. I'm still at a loss. I'm starting to considering splurging roughly $200 bucks to replace the video card/processor/mobo.
nebsgore is offline  
Old 07-29-2006, 05:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

I think you just need to up you FSB clock speed. To get to your p4c2.4.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.