computer screen not working on new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2009, 03:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default computer screen not working on new build

delete
__________________

mobbdeep856 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

Does you monitor have different input selections?
perhaps it is set to vga when you are trying to input to dvi.
__________________

__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Does you monitor have different input selections?
perhaps it is set to vga when you are trying to input to dvi.
how can u change it
mobbdeep856 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:37 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

usually there is either an input button on the monitor or it can be done via the menu button on the monitor.

If you have multiple inputs ie vga, dvi, svideo and hdmi that very well could be the problem.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 03:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
usually there is either an input button on the monitor or it can be done via the menu button on the monitor.

If you have multiple inputs ie vga, dvi, svideo and hdmi that very well could be the problem.
thats the problem, it doesnt even say no signal now, i cant even get to the menu.
mobbdeep856 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 04:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

try a different monitor of try this monitor on another computer.
try a different vga cable.
make sure the power plug is connected correctly.

what monitor do you have?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 12:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

this acer 19" lcd
mobbdeep856 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 12:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

ok. How about a model number?
For instance I have a Samsung T240

Have you looked at you manual or looked online to find out how to change inputs on your particular monitor?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 12:26 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

no, i got this monitor 2 years ago
mobbdeep856 is offline  
Old 07-08-2009, 12:37 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 21
Default Re: computer screen not working on new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
ok. How about a model number?
For instance I have a Samsung T240

Have you looked at you manual or looked online to find out how to change inputs on your particular monitor?
i tryed a different monitor and still no luck
__________________

mobbdeep856 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please rate my Computer Build Fernade10 System Upgrades 9 05-05-2009 10:47 AM
Computer Build Compatibility theveeed System Upgrades 6 06-23-2008 07:34 PM
Problem installing vista on newly build Computer Proedge Microsoft Windows and Software 1 06-14-2008 07:27 PM
Almost final computer build needs reviewing + case suggestions Shinzen New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-12-2007 05:57 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.