Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-27-2008, 11:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

Just started having this problem last night. Came home and my monitor had lost signal. Tried rebooting, and usually I can get windows to load up for 10-15 mins before it loses signal. Now most of the time it won't even load up at all without losing signal.

Computer makes normal noises as if loading up but somewhere signal is being lost to monitor. Tried taking out my video card and its fan and making sure everything was working good, but did not help.

Tried switching monitors and did not help either.

I've had the same setup since last November so not sure what the problem could be. Everything sounds normal, just monitor loses signal at random times when loading up, longest I've had it made it was 15 mins.

Would greatly appreciate any help on things to try. I'll try to get a different video card to put in there later and see if it works with a different one.
__________________

Tinsil is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 12:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

When it powers up does it beep just once or multiple times, could possibly be a video card failure but don't jump to conclusions just yet.
__________________

Nick is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 01:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

Could be a corrupted video card. Could be a PSU issue.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 01:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

Link to my Power Supply

Tried putting in a old 9250 Radeon and computer runs fine. Now I can't even get the 7900GS to get the signal to the monitor at all. My temperatures have always been great because I live in basement, don't overclock either. My fan on the video card sometimes speeds up a little bit when monitor loses signal then returns to normal fan speeds.

Could use some more advice, thanks.
Tinsil is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 02:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

Have you removed the old drivers before installing the nvidia drivers? It could be that the system is still recognizing the ATi card as the main video source which is why it will not work with the 7900 in there.

Use Driver Cleaner Pro to remove the ATi driver fully. Then shut down and place in teh 7900.

Driver Cleaner Professional download from Guru3D.com
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 02:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

I just now put in my 9250... I don't even have any drivers installed for it. My 7900GS stopped sending a signal to my monitor or something so I had to put in my old PCI card so I could come on here and post.
Tinsil is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

Then it could be that the 7900 is dead.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 02:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 47
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

What makes a video card die after 11 months if everything else looks good though?

I'm assuming this doesn't mean my next card will suffer the same fate does it?

Requested my RMA number. Thankfully warranty is still in place, so they should give me a replacement, not sure how long that'll take though.

Thanks again for your help Mak.
Tinsil is offline  
Old 09-27-2008, 02:40 PM   #9 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Computer Runs, but no signal from monitor

It oculd have been from a bad batch. Could be a number of things that could kill a card after 11 months. If you had overclocked it at all with just stock cooling this could be a factor. Could be for how long you ran it under load with it being hot. There are just to many things that it could have been.

This doesnt mean that the next card will suffer. I had a 6800 that still runs to this day. Got it with my Dimension 8400 like 5 years ago. There is no explaining why something goes bad. It jsut does at times.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A switch, and a router....Aren't they the same? ReikokuKo Networking Tips, Tricks & FAQ 10 04-10-2009 06:24 PM
installing 9800gtx - no signal to monitor 1337infamous New Systems | Building and Buying 27 08-17-2008 09:33 PM
Computer Turns on, GPU Fan Turns on, No Video smalls0224 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-13-2008 11:11 AM
Need help with hooking my xbox 360 to my computer so that i can play it on my monitor passivehammer Microsoft XBox 4 02-20-2008 05:53 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.