Computer running extremely slow on Windows 7 Professional

Status
Not open for further replies.
ide speeds wouldn't account for the time frame he's describing here and i'm not sure what you meant by the second part.

MindoverMaster: Is it possible to do a BIOS update when I cannot physically log in to Windows? As you can see in my specs above, I just bought the motherboard and haven't even installed the software cd that came with it because I am unable to get to/install Windows 7. :S

baih777: At first, I used the Windows 7 RTM. When that expired I purchased Windows 7 Professional from Digital River (I am a college student). I downloaded the digital copy and was sent a DVD for troubleshooting purposes (does that answer your question about 'which windows 7 version are you using?) Is this important? And yes I am selecting the custom install. Also, I am using an ide cd drive.

DBB2010: I tried loading the fail safe option. It didn't work. I will try removing the unnecessary parts and attempt again. I really don't know how to flash the BIOS (what is the point of that?). I do assume that everything is compatible. I did my research before buying everything.

flashing the bios is basically updating the bios, it's done before windows loads. you'll find very specific directions about how on your mobo manufacturer's website.

Hello all:

Here is an update on my computer problems...