Computer Restarts When I Touch It - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-27-2005, 12:50 AM   #1 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Question Computer Restarts When I Touch It

I got a computer here that is acting strangely.

It's a fresh install of Windows XP Pro as the previous one got corrupt (Not Sure How.)

I was in the middle of installing XPSP2 when I desided that I will test some monitors off this box. A plug a monitor in this computer, and then the computer restarts inself.

At the time, I thought that I was must of bumped some thing to cause the computer to restart.

Anyways, finish installing every thing. I started a burn in process with SANDA 2005. I put the side panel back on to the computer. Just as I did, the computer started itself.


Looking at the system, I come the conclusion that the person that own this computer did upgrade it once.
Firstly there was the slower optical drives that where a dead give away.
Secondly, the computer is running an Aopen ATX 250 Watt Power Supply with a Molex to 4 Pin CPU Power Cable Converter.

The computer is a P-IV 2.8, 512Mb Ram, Gigabyte All-In-One Motherboard, Windows Xp SP 2

I am trying to work out why this computer is restarting itself.
And only when it seems to be me touching it. (I know it's not my personality.)

I am thinking there MIGHT be some thing up with the Power Supply? However I am open for other suggestions.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 12:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

check how well the motherboard is seated or if anything metallic could be shorting it. sounds like the problem is that something is contacting the motherboard and shorting it causing the computer to restart
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Thats what I think also.You can also check the screws that hold the motherboard in to see if they have the washers.You can also slip a antistatic bag under the mobo and boot it and knock it around a little to see if it reboots.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

maybe underneath the mobo like a screw or something..
Static_11 is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 01:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

A PC at work had the same problem. Whenever I would try to plug a USB thumb drive into the front panel USB ports, as soon as the metal touched metal, the PC would restart. I never actually found out what was causing this, but I did find a way to stop it from happening. When ever I need to plug in my Thumbdrive, I would tough it to another piece of metal first. I guess because I always kept it in my pocket, it built up static electricity. I could actually see the electricity discharging on the front panel USB connecter and the other metal that I touched it to. I tried it several times both ways and if I didn't discharge the S.E it would restart.

Now, you're situation is a bit different, but i'm willing to bet that these other guys are on the right track. There could be a short somewhere. It's probably shorted to your case. When you tough it, the S.E is discharged and I'm guessing PC's don't like that too much.

Could be? But, i'm not 100% sure.

I would set aside like an hour or so and just completely break the whole PC down, clean out the case really good and rebuild it. Just for a safe measure.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 02:20 AM   #6 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I am going to check for shorts.

However the other problem that I do see is that I think the computer is over heating.

I found that when the computer is idling, the CPU temp is 48*C.
Turn out that the ( f**king retarded) computer tech* that put this computer together does not beleave in Thermal Paste.
After putting Thermal Paste and Cleaning out the CPU fan with some Canned O2, I now have the idel temp down to 43*C.

The case is an old Aopen Case that as bugger all spots for installing fans. I am going to see how much this guy's wallet can go as I do feel the need to put in a side panel case fan in. And replace the power supply with one of those newer ones with an internal fan.

* No. The computer tech does not work for me.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 02:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

does it restart all the time now that you put on thermal paste?
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
does it restart all the time now that you put on thermal paste?
I have not seen it restart now.

But after arguing with my Boss (who thinks that side panel case fan are nothing more than decoration), I have install a newer power supply with a one of those internal fans to just take the air out of the case.

I am currently running SiS Sandra, and under load it has reduces all the temperatures down for the case.

Personally I would rather I cut a hole in the side panel to encourage some air flow. However my boss thinks that side panel case fan are nothing more than decoration. :shakeshead:
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

another fan over the CPU can help a lot. it does on my system
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 10-27-2005, 03:44 AM   #10 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by apokalipse
another fan over the CPU can help a lot. it does on my system
My boss has this thing against modding. Even when it's suppose to benefit the running of the PC.

PC Modding is not just all Wankware and Flashy Lights.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.