Computer restarts when I click "SHUT DOWN", works second time I do it - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-11-2006, 02:10 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 95
Default Computer restarts when I click "SHUT DOWN", works second time I do it

Why oh why.....Windows XP SP2

I noticed if I go to the bios, and disable standby mode (it gives you "S1 and S3" options... Then I dont have the problem...But I still want to be able to have standby
__________________

quiq is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 08:54 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

That is Microsoft for you.
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 04-11-2006, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I use to have this problem with my Network card, very weird. The BIOS wake on LAN was enable and everytime I shut off the computer it would restart instead. So I just disable that wake on LAN feature on the BIOS and NIC card under device manager and the problem went away. It migh not be the solution but just an idea for you
Law is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 04:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default

I have had the same problem with a Compaq 6016US after I had to use the recovery disks after a hard drive failure. Did the above solve the problem? How did you know it was the NIC card?
dommat is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Because I added another NIC card to the PCI slot, my original one was buildin. The PCI NIC card enable another PC from the network to wake the computer up remotely. So when I started having this issue when I try to shut down I immediately know it was the NIC because it was the first time I had the problem when I just added this hardware.

Anyways, hey quiq have you tried updating your BIOS?
Law is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 10:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Default

Your solution worked. i disabled "wake from lan" in the device manager for my NiC and It stopped rebooting after shut down. Amazing I would never have come up with that. thanks for posting
dommat is offline  
Old 04-13-2006, 11:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I could never figure out why it does this. But I know that the features keep the NIC card power on while the computer is off, that's why sometime the NIC light is still on at the back of your computer while your computer is off. Because the NIC must be able to recieve this "Magic Packet" from a remote computer to wake it up, it can't do this if it's at the off state.

Maybe a bug in the design, because it shouldn't restart the computer if you are shutting it off. Could be the Operating system itself, a bug within the power management.
Law is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 905
Default

I have this problem. It restarts when I select shut down, and then when I push the power button on my case, it restarts again. I have to disconnect the power cable for it to stay off. If I put the power cable in, it automatically starts up.
cyrax is offline  
Old 04-14-2006, 12:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

That sounds like the situation I used to have with the NIC card "Wake on LAN" feature. Plus the motherboard BIOS "Wake on LAN" was enable too. Had to disable both to fix it.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.