Computer rebooted itself - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-10-2006, 09:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default Computer rebooted itself

I posted something similar yesterday about how I cleaned my computer then all of a sudden my screen would go blank. Someone suggested that I replug in my video card. Well today for the first time the screen went blank and it totally restarted. Then I got this message saying something about "windows recovered from serious error" or something like that. My computer is about 4 years old, heres my components:

Windows XP professional Service pack 2
Intel pent 4 2.4GHz CPU
Gigabyte 8lPE1000P motherboard with intel i865P/PE/G/i848P chipset
512mb Single channel DDR memory- PC2700 (166MHz)
6800 GT 258MB video card
Award Modular BIOS v6.00PG
Realtek AC97 Audio card
DirectX 9.0c
CPU temperature is about 47 degrees Celcius
350 W power supply


Could it still possibly be the video card isnt fully all the way in or do you think its a more serious matter?
If you need to know anything else I will be happy to tell you what else I have in my machine. This happened after I cleaned it, thanks for your help
__________________

Greg300 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default

do these temps and voltages seem ok?


Monitoring Chip : ITE IT8712F
CPU Core : 1.50 V
Aux. : 2.56 V
+3.3V Voltage : 3.33 V
+5V Voltage : 4.19 V
+12V Voltage : 11.25 V
Processor Fan : 2518 rpm
Processor Temperature : 25 °C
Mainboard Temperature : 25 °C
Power/Aux Temperature : 39 °C
:
Monitoring Chip GPU : nVidia Driver
GPU Temperature : 76 °C
GPU Ambient : 53 °C
GPU Fan : 52%
:
Hard Disk Temperature WDC WD800JB-00ETA0 : 42 °C
__________________

Greg300 is offline  
Old 07-10-2006, 11:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default

If you need anymore information about my computer to help me solve this problem I can get it for you. Ive downloaded a few of the monitoring programs from around the forum.

I apologize for the triple post as well, Im just nervous and antsy that something could be wrong with my machine.

I was curious about this

+3.3V Voltage : 3.33 V
+5V Voltage : 4.19 V
+12V Voltage : 11.25 V

it says +3.3v, +5V, and +12V. Are the voltages actually supposed to be above those?

Please anyone?
Greg300 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 200
Default

Hey dude, yea those voltages look like crap. Basically the 3.3v, 5v, and 12v rails should be pumping out atleast x amount (12v = 12v, not 11.25!).

Sounds to me like your power supply is on the way out. I would replace it with a 400watt or more.
imation is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 01:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default

The thing is, it was running good before I cleaned it out. Could some static maybe have got to it a little bit? It never did anything like this before I cleaned it. But I read on another forum someone with a similar situation and he said his voltages werent adding up. Thats why I brought that up. And thanks for the post, its nice to finally get some feedback. Ive been searching stuff up for about 7 hours now trying to figure this out.



I just noticed something when I went into my event log for my system. Theres an event with the source being "Save Dump" and it says "The computer has rebooted from a bugcheck. It gives some numbers and then it says "C:\WINDOWS\Minidump\Mini071006-02.dmp. Does this ring a bell to anyone? Could it be the problem?
Greg300 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 10:49 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default

UPDATE: I shut down my computer last night and when I rebooted it the "Windows has recovered from a serious error" thing came up and I took screen shots of the error. Hope this will help out even more. I went and did this http://support.gateway.com/s/issues/667604320.shtml
hopefully that helps, I shall see.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fullerror.jpg (55.0 KB, 26 views)
Greg300 is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 06:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 11
Default

Mods just delete this, if only one person will manage to try and help someone then Im switching to another forum. Bye
__________________

Greg300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.