Computer randomly turns itself off

Status
Not open for further replies.

nicholas_t

Solid State Member
Hi,

My computer will start up fine and then about 10 minutes later it will just randomly turn off. I then have to wait a few minutes before I can turn it back on. I just recently got a new hard drive, motherboard and CPU for my PC.

I have powerstrip installed and it says it didn't shut down properly and asks if I want to edit anything. I'm not very good with computers and had my computer done by my cousin.

It was working fine for 2 days but I downloaded a program to up my usb polling rate. It was fine for a day after that but when I tried to use my comp today it would just turn itself off. I've made my polling rate back to normal and deleted the program but my computer is still messed up.

I've got a 2.8 dual core intel processor, 512mb ram will be 1 gig soon.

Any suggestions would be appreciated :)

Check your CPU Temps. After it shuts down reboot into your BIOS and check the temps.

When starting your PC before windows starts it should give you an instruction like "Press F2 for setup" or "Press F10 for bios" For an exact description for your PC, look in the manual that came with your motherboard.

Once you're in the BIOS, look for a category like "System Monitor" "Hardware monitor" "temperature Monitor" and in there it should give you some temps. Most important is CPU temp. Anything above 60 degrees celcius is typically bad, though maximum temp varies from CPU to CPU

max temperature for a pentium D is around 63 C.

The temperature seems to be fine. If I try to turn my comp on right away after it turns itself off it wont turn on. I have to wait like a minute and then it will only turn on for about 10-20 seconds.

If I leave it off for like an hour then turn it on it will stay on for like 5-10mins.