computer randomly shutting off ... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2006, 12:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to skip2maicu
Default computer randomly shutting off ...

Hi all,

recently my computer has been experiencing random shut offs. these shut offs occur before startup on occassion and afterwards. I thought since i was running on stock intel fan that cpu was overheating, but upon replacing it i still have shut off problems. this is sucking big time since it is now essay season and i can't rely on my computer. HELP!
__________________

skip2maicu is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to skip2maicu
Default

ps here are my specs

asus p5nd2 sli motherboard
coolmax 600w sli ps (thought this might have been the problem"
p4 2.8ghz
1gb corsair value ram
pny 6600gt
sound blaster audigy 2 zs
maxtor 160 gb hdd (ide)
Western digital 160 gb hdd (ide)
linksys network card.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817159055
(link to power supply)
__________________

skip2maicu is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 12:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Thats almost always a PSU problem. If it were anything else, you would be getting artifacts or a blue screen of death. Since its just shutting off, my money is on the power supply.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to skip2maicu
Default

hey thanks for the reply. do you think its because there is not enough power? or is there just not enough quality power? things are starting to come together since this problem didn't realy occur until a week into having a tv tuner.
skip2maicu is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to metal11
Default

a 600w cant handle all that? im thinking either your power cord is loose, or the PSU is shot.
metal11 is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What are your CPU temperatures during gaming? It is either a defective PSU (Which is more than capable to power your setup and then some) or your processor is overheating and shutting down to protect itself.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

PSU PSU PSU.......get out your multimeter and back test every power connection to that mobo: 12v rail; 20/24 pin and the grounds. If gounds show leakage (more that .0010vdc) then your mobo is toast. Probably the PSU and I'll bet you see that the 12v rail is fluctuating heavily under full load. Then replace the power supply. However, you can just swap out the PSU with another for test purposes and see if it boots and runs noramlly. How old is that 600 st (which a really hefty PSU) PSU?
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to skip2maicu
Default

2 months old. no overclocking has been done at all.
skip2maicu is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Kazou
Default

it could always be something you just installed.......when i installed a virus scanner.....bit defender i think it was........my computer kept restarting for no apparent reason.......also it could be your ram........i had faulty ram that caused me computer to restart at random intervals.......so i mean check those out also.......
Kazou is offline  
Old 02-01-2006, 06:57 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 9
Send a message via AIM to skip2maicu
Default

alrity i'll look into that.
__________________

skip2maicu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.