computer randomly locks up - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-03-2005, 05:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default computer randomly locks up

yah basicly i have to deal with this p3 550 4 a little bit more.but it locks up randomly
i tried to repair and that did not help
the new things i have on the system ati rage pro 128 meg card i scraped and a sound blaster live card.But i think it is this old psu i looked in the bios and the voltages are under by .5 to 1 volts.it is a pc power and cooling 275 watt.yah it is old and it is running too much for a 275 could this be causing my lock ups?
well i will have to get a psu soon i want to replace this with a old computer i scraped.a tyan server motherboard MP
and 2 two 1900+ MP cpus at 1.6ghz each.
my psu wont run it at all.
also MP cpus have an unlocked multipliers right?
could i get it to 2 ghz on air?
if it is a unlcked multi i could get
stock
133 fsb x 12 = 1.6 ghz
what i want
150 fsb x 13= 1.96 ghz

can u recomend a good psu i can for $30 not online but retail?
__________________

__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:25 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i wouldn't push it, keep in mind thats 2 cpu's in one case so thats gonna bring some serious heat.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:30 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

i know but i wont keep the stock heat sinks i would get two better heat sinks but i need a psu first.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 10:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

yeah fair enough. sorry i can't help you pick one. but i think its definitely safe to say that old one isn't helping you much. damn 0.5 volts!!!
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-03-2005, 11:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

yup it used to be a great psu but age is catching up with it.
If i had money i would go pc power and cooling again.
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.